Where to watch Indy 500 qualifying 2023 in the UK and USA

Scott Dixon will be aiming for his sixth Indy 500 pole with Chip Ganassi Racing after an incredible run in 2022

-

It’s May. The biggest month of the year for any motorsport fan and the Indianapolis 500 headlines the show.

Practice begins on Tuesday 16 May from 09:00 EST (14:00 BST) running all the way into Saturday, May 20 before qualifying begins.

From Saturday afternoon, all cars will attempt to be in the top 12 to guarantee their spot at the front of the show before Sunday’s showdown.

On Sunday 21 May, six of the top 12 will battle for the front two rows while the other half a dozen will settle for rows three and four. The rest of the grid from 13th to 30th will be set in stone, leaving four cars to battle over the final three spots in the show.

What time is Indy 500 qualifying?

The order in which cars run when in qualifying will be randomly selected but the first car should be on track at 11:00 EST (16:00 BST).

Sunday’s final showdown will begin with the top 12 battling for a spot in the ‘Fast Six’ at 14:00 EST (19:00 BST). Two hours later, the Last Chance Qualifying will determine who does and doesn’t make the show (16:00 EST; 21:00 BST).

Finally, the Fast Six shootout will see the fastest cars go all out for Indy 500 pole at 17:15 EST (22:15 BST).

How to watch Indy 500 qualifying?

For viewers in the United States, Peacock will broadcast every lap turned during the month of May but NBC will also show parts of the qualifying weekend.

On Saturday, May 20, NBC will broadcast two hours of qualifying between 14:30 and 16:30 EST while also showing the Last Chance Qualifying and the Fast Six on the Sunday.

Viewers in the UK will be able to follow much of practice via Sky Sports F1 with coverage of qualifying on Saturday beginning at 17:15 BST.

Sunday’s action will be broadcast from 19:00 BST after the Formula 1 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix at Imola.

Joe Ellis
Joe Ellis is a motorsport journalist with experience working in BTCC. He is the resident IndyCar correspondent for Total-Motorsport.com and a top class F1 writer.
- Advertisment -

LATEST NEWS

Esteban Ocon declares he is F1’s ‘purest driver’ in new Alpine jibe

0
Esteban Ocon has boldly described himself as the "purest driver" in Formula 1 and aimed a subtle dig at...

George Russell outlines Mercedes strategy to winning 2024 Spanish GP

0
George Russell targets superior tyre degradation as the key for Mercedes to win the 2024 Spanish GP as the...

How Many Pole Positions Does Lando Norris Have?

0
Lando Norris, the talented British driver for McLaren in Formula 1, has secured two pole positions in his career...

Carlos Sainz explains worrying Ferrari revelation in Spanish GP qualifying

0
Carlos Sainz revealed he conceded the fight for pole position at the 2024 Spanish GP before it had even...

Lewis Hamilton reveals Mercedes issue that almost spelt disaster in Spanish GP qualifying

0
Lewis Hamilton explained a problem with his tyre blankets was to blame for his initial struggles in qualifying for...

F1 Spanish GP Starting Grid 2024

0
Lando Norris is first on the 2024 Spanish GP starting grid after an intense qualifying session, where he edged...

Max Verstappen Spanish GP fears as Red Bull ‘not good enough’

0
Max Verstappen has warned Red Bull they were "not good enough" to secure pole position, after he was beaten...

Can McLaren win 2024 Spanish GP? Lando Norris reveals the secret

0
Can Lando Norris and McLaren win the 2024 Spanish GP? That’s the question on everyone’s lips after they stunned...

Lando Norris stuns Verstappen to seal Spanish GP pole position

0
McLaren driver Lando Norris secured pole position for the Spanish Grand Prix 2024 after pipping Red Bull star Max...

F1 2024 Spanish GP – Qualifying Results

0
As the 2024 Spanish Grand Prix race weekend continues, Lando Norris of McLaren set the fastest time in the...
- Advertisment -
Exit mobile version