Where to watch Indy 500 qualifying 2023 in the UK and USA

Scott Dixon will be aiming for his sixth Indy 500 pole with Chip Ganassi Racing after an incredible run in 2022

-

It’s May. The biggest month of the year for any motorsport fan and the Indianapolis 500 headlines the show.

Practice begins on Tuesday 16 May from 09:00 EST (14:00 BST) running all the way into Saturday, May 20 before qualifying begins.

From Saturday afternoon, all cars will attempt to be in the top 12 to guarantee their spot at the front of the show before Sunday’s showdown.

On Sunday 21 May, six of the top 12 will battle for the front two rows while the other half a dozen will settle for rows three and four. The rest of the grid from 13th to 30th will be set in stone, leaving four cars to battle over the final three spots in the show.

What time is Indy 500 qualifying?

The order in which cars run when in qualifying will be randomly selected but the first car should be on track at 11:00 EST (16:00 BST).

Sunday’s final showdown will begin with the top 12 battling for a spot in the ‘Fast Six’ at 14:00 EST (19:00 BST). Two hours later, the Last Chance Qualifying will determine who does and doesn’t make the show (16:00 EST; 21:00 BST).

Finally, the Fast Six shootout will see the fastest cars go all out for Indy 500 pole at 17:15 EST (22:15 BST).

How to watch Indy 500 qualifying?

For viewers in the United States, Peacock will broadcast every lap turned during the month of May but NBC will also show parts of the qualifying weekend.

On Saturday, May 20, NBC will broadcast two hours of qualifying between 14:30 and 16:30 EST while also showing the Last Chance Qualifying and the Fast Six on the Sunday.

Viewers in the UK will be able to follow much of practice via Sky Sports F1 with coverage of qualifying on Saturday beginning at 17:15 BST.

Sunday’s action will be broadcast from 19:00 BST after the Formula 1 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix at Imola.

Joe Ellis
Joe Ellis
Joe Ellis is a motorsport journalist with experience working in BTCC. He is the resident IndyCar correspondent for Total-Motorsport.com and a top class F1 writer.
- Advertisment -

LATEST NEWS

Liam Lawson prepares for free practice at the 2022 Mexican Grand Prix | Peter Fox/Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Red Bull bosses agree on Liam Lawson F1 prospects in 2025

0
Christian Horner and RB CEO Peter Bayer refused to back Liam Lawson's prospects for a full-time Formula 1 drive...
Carlos Sainz looks on at the 2024 Monaco GP | Ferrari

After Carlos Sainz’s Mercedes denial, why does his future remain an enigma?

0
Ferrari swinging the axe on Carlos Sainz's career in scarlet must have stung, but the Spaniard at least had...
Charles Leclerc dives into the Monaco harbour | Scuderia Ferrari Press Office

Where does Charles Leclerc rank 2024 Monaco Grand Prix win?

0
Charles Leclerc is a race winner for the first time in almost two years as the Ferrari ace crushed...
Charles Leclerc celebrates winning the 2024 Monaco GP | Scuderia Ferrari Press Office

What we learned from the 2024 Monaco Grand Prix

0
The 2024 Monaco Grand Prix may not have served up a classic, but it wasn’t short on storylines as...
Sergio Perez talks to his engineer Hugh Bird and team principal Christian Horner in the garage | Mark Thompson / Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Look away Checo – Horner praises Perez’s F1 rival as star fights for Red...

0
Christian Horner insists Red Bull will make a decision about Sergio Perez's Red Bull future "in the fullness of...
Max Verstappen during 2024 Monaco Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Winners and Losers of 2024 Monaco GP

0
Charles Leclerc vanquished his Monte Carlo demons to finally take victory at his home race, while Red Bull continued...
Daniel Ricciardo of Visa Cash App RB during the 2024 Monaco Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Driver Ratings – Monaco GP 2024

0
Charles Leclerc was in dreamland as the Ferrari driver finally celebrated an elusive victory at home race at the...
Josef Newgarden drinks his milk after winning the 2024 Indy 500 | Penske Entertainment: James Black

2024 Indy 500 Race Results

0
Josef Newgarden joined an elite group of drivers by winning the Indy 500 for the second consecutive year in...
Josef Newgarden celebrates winning the 2024 Indy 500 | Penske Entertainment: Amber Pietz

Newgarden takes sensational Indy 500 win after epic battle for glory

0
The Indianapolis 500 never fails to excite and even a four-hour rain delay couldn't dampen the drama for IndyCar's...
Tom Blomqvist crashes in Lap 1 at the 2024 Indy 500 | Penske Entertainment: Aaron Skillman

2024 Indy 500: Results and Highlights as Newgarden wins

0
Welcome to this Total Motorsport live blog for the 2024 Indy 500, is among the most prestigious motorsport events...
- Advertisment -