After a delay caused by the Omicron variant of the Coronavirus, the 2021 Autosport Awards took place over the weekend, with 2021 Formula 1 World Champion Max Verstappen claiming the event’s premier Racing Driver of the Year award.

The Autosport Awards are an annual ceremony held at the end of each year that brings together some of the world’s best racing drivers. Unlike the FIA prize-giving ceremony, the Autosport Awards are given out by Autosport magazine, with some of the awards open to reader voting.

BRDC Award

The prestigious BRDC Award is also presented at the ceremony each year to one upcoming driver, with previous winners including David Coulthard, Jenson Button, Geroge Russell, and Lando Norris. Zak O’Sullivan, a Williams F1 development driver and GB3 champion, was the 2021 winner.

The full list of awards can be viewed below:

Racing Driver of the YearMax VerstappenF1
Race Car of the YearRB16BF1
Rally Driver of the YearSebastian OgierWRC
Rally Car of the YearToyota YarisWRC
Rookie of the YearOscar Piastri F2
British Driver of the YearLando NorrisF1
UK Driver of the YearAsh SuttonBTCC
BRDC Young Driver AwardZak O’Sullivan GB3
Esports Driver of the YearFrederik RasmussenEsports
Esports Team of the YearCoanda SimsportEsports
Pioneering and Innovation AwardAlejandro AgagFE
Gold Medal AwardJean Todt