Starting Grid for 2021 F1 Turkish Grand Prix

Valtteri Bottas will start on pole position for the 2021 Turkish GP after his Mercedes teammate Lewis Hamilton was given a 10-place grid penalty at Istanbul Park


Despite a superlative display in Qualifying for the 2021 Turkish Grand Prix, Lewis Hamilton will not be on the pole position. Instead, Mercedes teammate Valtteri Bottas will be at the front of the starting grid as Hamilton received a 10-place grid penalty. 

Mercedes decided to change the Internal Combustion Engine (ICE) in Hamilton’s power unit, and this the Brit was given an automatic demotion. 

Elsewhere, Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz will start from the back of the grid after the Italian outfit decided on a complete change of power unit for the Spaniard. 

Turkish GP 2021 – Full starting grid

1Valtteri BottasMercedes
2Max VerstappenRed Bull
3Charles LeclercFerrari
4Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri
5Fernando AlonsoAlpine
6Sergio PerezRed Bull
7Lando NorrisMcLaren
8Lance StrollAston Martin
9Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri
10Sebastian VettelAston Martin
11Lewis HamiltonMercedes
12Esteban OconAlpine
13George RussellWilliams
14Mick SchumacherHaas
15Daniel RicciardoMcLaren
16Nicholas LatifiWilliams
17Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo
18Kimi RaikkonenAlfa Romeo
19Nikita MazepinHaas
20Carlos SainzFerrari

Grid penalties

Lewis Hamilton = 10 place grid penalty – Additional power unit element has been used

Carlos Sainz = Required to start from the back of the starting grid – Additional power unit elements have been used


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Must Read

George Russell at the 2022 Belgian Grand Prix

Russell: Mercedes definitely had a car capable of winning

Despite finishing last of the 14 drivers who crossed the line at the 2022 Singapore Grand Prix, George Russell insists Mercedes had a car...
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -