Portland joins 2023 Formula E calendar

    Formula E have confirmed Portland will join the 2023 calendar which completes the schedule for the opening season of the new Gen3 era


    Portland has been announced to join the 2023 Formula E calendar, completing the schedule for the first season of the new Gen3 era.

    With the New York E-Prix holding its final event earlier this year, the provisional Formula E calendar didn’t feature a race in the United States.

    However, it was revealed on Wednesday that a new street circuit in Portland will host the 12th round of the championship on June 24.

    “We are excited to bring the premier electric motorsport world championship to Portland for the first time in June next year,” said Formula E co-founder and chief championship officer Alberto Longo.

    “There is a big, passionate fanbase for professional sports in the city, together with strong ecological credentials which makes Portland a perfect host for the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship.

    “The USA remains an important market for Formula E. We are delighted to maintain that critical presence and engage a new audience in the Pacific Northwest region in all-electric motorsport.”

    Formula E 2023 Calendar

    With the announcement of Portland, it’s now official that 11 different venues will host a 16-race season which will begin with the Mexico City E-Prix on January 14.

    A double-header in Diriyah on January 28-29 will be followed by a new event in Hyderabad, India on February 11.

    Two more new venues come next with Cape Town on February 25 and Sao Paulo on March 25.

    Berlin, a staple of the Formula E calendar, will host a double-header on April 22-23, before the Monaco E-Prix on May 6.

    A double-header in Jakarta on June 3-4 and the new Portland round on June 24 will see the end of the flyaway races as double-headers in Rome on July 15-16 and London on July 29-30 bring the season to an end

    1Mexico City E-PrixAutódromo Hermanos RodríguezJanuary 14
    2Diriyah E-PrixRiyadh Street CircuitJanuary 28
    3Diriyah E-PrixRiyadh Street CircuitJanuary 28
    4Hyderabad E-PrixHyderabad Street CircuitFebruary 11
    5Cape Town E-PrixCape Town Street CircuitFebruary 25
    6Sao Paulo E-PrixSao Paulo Street CircuitMarch 25
    7Berlin E-PrixTempelhof Airport Street CircuitApril 22
    8Berlin E-PrixTempelhof Airport Street CircuitApril 23
    9Monaco E-PrixCircuit de MonacoMay 6
    10Jakarta E-PrixJakarta International e-Prix CircuitJune 3
    11Jakarta E-PrixJakarta International e-Prix CircuitJune 4
    12Portland E-PrixTBAJune 24
    13Rome E-PrixCircuito Cittadino dell’EURJuly 15
    14Rome E-PrixCircuito Cittadino dell’EURJuly 16
    15London E-PrixExCeL LondonJuly 29
    16London E-PrixExCeL LondonJuly 30


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    - Advertisment -

    Must Read

    Sargeant aiming to solve tyre management mystery

    Logan Sargeant says he is seeking to learn how to master the tyres after struggling at the Spanish Grand Prix. The rookie finished in last...
    - Advertisment -