NASCAR 2021 Playoffs: Cook Out Southern 500 – How to watch

The NASCAR Playoffs begin at Darlington Raceway on Sunday for the Cook Out Southern 500


The 2021 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series begins its playoffs at the toughest track on the schedule at Darlington Raceway.

Richard Childress Racing’s Tyler Reddick secured the final spot in the playoffs at Daytona last week but all eyes are on Kyle Larson having been the standout driver for much of the season so far.

Closest to challenging Larson through much of the regular season was Denny Hamlin and he has a great chance to start his playoffs in style, starting on the front row for Joe Gibbs Racing alongside pole sitter Ryan Blaney of Team Penske.

A win for any of the 16 playoff drivers will see them advance to the Round of 12 and those who only just snuck into the picture will need that to keep their championship hopes alive.

How to Watch NASCAR Playoffs in the USA

NBC Sports Network will broadcast the race which starts at 18:00 ET on Sunday, September 5 although pre-race coverage will be provided on NBCSN from 17:30 ET. The NBC Sports website will also provide streaming services for those who sign in with their provider.

You can also listen to live radio coverage of the Cook Out Southern 500 on SiriusXM NASCAR Radio and Motor Racing Network which will start at 18:00 ET.

The 2021 Cook Out Southern 500 Starting Lineup

The 16 playoff drivers were drawn on the first eight rows with those not in contention starting from 17th on back.

Pos.DriverTeamCar No.
1Ryan BlaneyTeam Penske12
2Denny HamlinJoe Gibbs Racing11
3Kurt BuschChip Ganassi Racing1
4Chase ElliottHendrick Motorsports9
5Alex BowmanHendrick Motorsports48
6Kyle LarsonHendrick Motorsports5
7Tyler ReddickRichard Childress Racing8
8Aric AlmirolaStewart-HaasRacing10
9Kevin HarvickStewart-HaasRacing4
10Martin Truex Jr.Joe Gibbs Racing19
11Joey LoganoTeam Penske22
12Kyle BuschJoe Gibbs Racing18
13Christopher BellJoe Gibbs Racing20
14William ByronHendrick Motorsports24
15Michael McDowellFront Row Motorsports34
16Brad KeselowskiTeam Penske2
17Bubba Wallace23XI Racing23
18Ryan PreeceJTG DaughertyRacing37
19Ryan NewmanRoush Fenway Racing6
20Justin HaleySpire Motorsports77
21Austin DillonRichard Childress Racing3
22Erik JonesRichard Petty Motorsports43
23Ross ChastainChip Ganassi Racing42
24Chase BriscoeStewart-HaasRacing14
25Corey LaJoieSpire Motorsports7
26Daniel SuarezTrackhouse Racing Team99
27B.J McLeodLive Fast Motorsports78
28Josh BilickiRick Ware Racing52
29Ricky Stenhouse Jr.JTG DaughertyRacing47
30Matt DiBenedettoWood BrothersRacing21
31Cole CusterStewart-HaasRacing41
32Anthony AlfredoFront Row Motorsports38
33Cody WarePetty Ware Racing51
34Chris BuescherRoush Fenway Racing17
35Joey GaseRick Ware Racing15
36James DavisonRick Ware Racing53
37Quin HouffStarCom Racing00
Joe Ellis
Joe Ellis
Motorsport journalist, indyCar correspondent and F1 writer for
- Advertisment -


Red Bull Team Principal Christian Horner and Max Verstappen talk in the Paddock ahead of 2024 Australian Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Fiery Horner reignites Wolff feud over Verstappen rumours: I don’t think Toto’s problems are...

Christian Horner launched a stinging attack on Toto Wolff over the Mercedes team principal stoking rumours that Max Verstappen...
Toto Wolff at 2023 United States Grand Prix | Mercedes / Sebastian Kawka

Toto Wolff in ‘simple minds’ jibe at Horner over Max Verstappen

Toto Wolff has aimed a thinly-veiled swipe at Christian Horner by suggesting only 'simple minds' believe Max Verstappen would...
Daniel Ricciardo of Visa Cash App RB during Sprint Qualifying ahead of 2024 Chinese Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Daniel Ricciardo handed grid penalty for 2024 Miami Grand Prix

Daniel Ricciardo's challenging weekend at the 2024 Chinese Grand Prix has been compounded by a three-grid place penalty issued...
Guanyu Zhou gets emotional on the grid after the 2024 Chinese GP | Sauber

Zhou Guanyu in tears after making F1 history

In an emotionally charged scene at the end of the 2024 Chinese Grand Prix, Sauber's Zhou Guanyu achieved...
Carlos Sainz during 2024 Chinese GP weekend | Scuderia Ferrari Press Office

Sainz channels inner Jose Mourinho to slam Leclerc for ‘costly’ Chinese GP incident

Carlos Sainz blamed Charles Leclerc for costing Ferrari two positions at the start of the 2024 Chinese Grand Prix,...
Daniel Ricciardo of Visa Cash App RB during Day 1 of 2024 F1 Testing in Bahrain | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

“F*ck that guy” – Seething Daniel Ricciardo slams Lance Stroll for Chinese GP crash

Daniel Ricciardo laid into Lance Stroll for the Canadian’s role in their 2024 Chinese Grand Prix crash that saw...
F1 2024 Chinese GP winner Max Verstappen celebrates on the podium | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Max Verstappen wants more after 2024 Chinese GP victory: Issues Red Bull demand

Max Verstappen might have crushed the opposition at the 2024 Chinese Grand Prix to extend his championship lead to...
Lewis Hamilton at 2024 Chinese Grand Prix | Mercedes / Sam Bloxham

Lewis Hamilton relying on Miami upgrade after damning Mercedes message

Lewis Hamilton is holding out hope that Mercedes will bring upgrades to their car in time for the Miami...
Race winner Max Verstappen celebrates after 2024 Chinese Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Verstappen clinches stop-start Chinese GP win as Norris holds off Perez for second

Max Verstappen cruised to victory in the 2024 Chinese Grand Prix as the result never looked in doubt despite...
Max Verstappen leads Lando Norris of McLaren during 2024 Chinese Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 2024 Chinese GP: Driver of the Day

McLaren star Lando Norris has been named Driver of the Day after his stellar performance at the Formula 1...
- Advertisment -