Naomi Schiff admits shock at landing F1 pundit gig as Sky reveal departures for 2023

Naomi Schiff will be back as part of the Sky Sports F1 team for 2023 - but two well-known figures won't be


Naomi Schiff has admitted she was shocked to get the call to join the Sky Sports Formula 1 team ahead of the 2022 season.

The 28-year-old was born in Belgium but grew up in South Africa and is a former racer herself, having competed in various categories since starting her career in single-seaters at the age of 16.

After finishing 16th in the inaugural W Series campaign in 2019, she turned her hand to broadcasting but didn’t expect to land a role as an F1 pundit.

“I was very surprised to have a call from Sky,” she said on the Kidd in a Sweet Shop podcast.

“Weirdly, I didn’t ever think that they would consider me as a pundit because of the fact that I obviously, had never driven an F1 car.

“But I was so delighted when they suggested it because I was like, ‘This is going to fill the void in my life of not being a driver anymore’.

“And I can still speak from the point of experience because whether it’s an F1 car, an F3 car or a KTM GT4 or Ferrari Challenge car, whatever it is, I’ve driven so many different cars and racing is, at the end of the day, racing, and drivers are drivers.

“Yes, the pressure is higher and yes, the equipment is quicker and more technologically advanced, but it’s the same thing. If we’re realistic, there aren’t many women or many drivers who have careers in motorsport which are secure, with a steady income.

“I thought it was a wise decision because I have to think about my future. I’ve been fighting for my racing career for 16 years and it’s still a struggle. Did I really want to continue struggling at my age? This was a good opportunity.”

Schiff will not be joined on the Sky Sports F1 panel this year by Johnny Herbert or Paul di Resta, both of whom have not had their contracts renewed.

Naomi Schiff raced in the W Series in 2019 / Image credit: REUTERS/Kai Pfaffenbach

Sky Sports F1 team for 2023

  • Rachel Brookes
  • Martin Brundle
  • Jenson Button
  • Karun Chandhok
  • David Croft
  • Anthony Davidson
  • Damon Hill
  • Ted Kravitz
  • Simon Lazenby
  • Danica Patrick
  • Natalie Pinkham
  • Nico Rosberg
  • Naomi Schiff
Andrew Wright
Andrew Wright
Sports Journalist for
- Advertisment -


Charles Leclerc Monaco GP record: Ferrari star out to banish seven-year curse

After growing up in Monaco, Charles Leclerc must know the streets of Monte Carlo like the back of his...
Joey Logano leads the field at the NASCAR Cup Series All-Star Race at North Wilkesboro Speedway | NASCAR

Was the NASCAR All-Star Race’s option tyre a success?

The NASCAR All-Star Race is often used as a testing ground for concepts that might be incorporated into points...
McLaren F1 launch bespoke Senna livery for the 2024 Monaco GP | McLaren

McLaren unveil stunning Senna tribute livery for 2024 Monaco GP

McLaren have announced a special Ayrton Senna-inspired livery for the 2024 Formula 1 Monaco Grand Prix, celebrating the legendary...
Lewis Hamilton during 2024 Australian GP | Mercedes / Sulay Kelly

Race to replace Lewis Hamilton at Mercedes down to two candidates

As Lewis Hamilton prepares to leave Mercedes for Ferrari ahead of the 2025 Formula 1 season, there has been...
Ollie Bearman with his new helmet ahead of his practice outing in Imola for Haas

Haas boss outlines how Oliver Bearman can secure 2025 F1 seat after Imola audition

Oliver Bearman has been hailed for his faultless performance by Haas team principal Ayao Komatsu in practice at the...

Esteban Ocon tempted by Mercedes 2025 switch as Alpine doubts emerge

Esteban Ocon has opened the door to replacing Lewis Hamilton at Mercedes, as the Alpine driver ponders his future...
Toto Wolff at 2023 United States Grand Prix | Mercedes / Sebastian Kawka

Toto Wolff ‘can’t wait’ to prove Horner wrong after latest Mercedes jibe

Mercedes boss Toto Wolff has fired back at Christian Horner for suggesting over 200 employees left Mercedes for Red...
Race winner Max Verstappen and runner-up Lando Norris of McLaren celebrate on the podium after the 2024 Emilia Romagna GP | Mark Thompson/Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Winners and Losers from 2024 Emilia Romagna GP

Lando Norris' miraculous late-race pace brought a previously lacklustre 2024 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix to life as the McLaren...
Max Verstappen leads Lando Norris of McLaren at the start of the 2024 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Driver Ratings – Emilia Romagna GP 2024

Max Verstappen returned to the top of the podium after seeing off a late challenge from Lando Norris to...
Scott McLaughlin at 2024 Indy 500 Pole Day | Penske Entertainment: Joe Skibinski

Scott McLaughlin secures pole for Indy 500, as Team Penske sweep front row

Scott McLaughlin clinched the P1 Award in IndyCar's Fast Six qualifying for the 108th Indy 500, leading Team Penske...
- Advertisment -