Dixon makes Indy 500 qualification history

    Qualification for the 2022 Indy 500 took place over the weekend


    In an enthralling qualification battle for the Indy 500, Scott Dixon earned his fifth career pole position for the standout Indycar race with a record-breaking average speed. 

    During the Fast 6 shootout in which the best six drivers from the Top 12 had one final run at pole position, Dixon posted an average four-lap speed of 234.046 mph, which is the fastest in the race’s 106 year history. 

    The previous benchmark was 233.718 mph held by Scott Brayton which was set in 1996. 

    “From the first run to the second, I knew it was going to get easier because of the weather conditions,” Dixon said, “and the weather held up. 

    “It’s a privilege to be on the pole, but it don’t feel as good as I felt when I won in 2008. All 32 drivers want that feeling. 

    “Some of us have felt it before, and it just makes you want to feel that again.

    “It’s all about winning the 500, man. Winning the pole does give you confidence, but it’s no guarantee of anything. 

    “You just keep knocking on that door, and I hope it opens up for me this year.”

    Dixon ahead of Palou 

    The 2021 Indy 500 runner-up Alex Palou lines up second behind Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Dixon, with Chevrolet drivers Rinus VeeKay and Ed Carpenter next up. Seven-time NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson will start 12th after a near miss with the wall during his qualifying run. 

    2022 Indy 500 Starting Grid

    Pos.DriverTeamAvg speed
    1Scott DixonChip Ganassi Racing234.046 mph
    2Alex PalouChip Ganassi Racing233.499
    3Rinus VeeKayEd Carpenter Racing233.385
    4Ed CarpenterEd Carpenter Racing233.080
    5Marcus EricssonChip Ganassi Racing232.764
    6Tony KanaanChip Ganassi Racing232.372
    7Pato O’WardArrow McLaren232.705
    8Felix RosenqvistArrow McLaren232.182
    9Romain GrosjeanAndretti Autosport231.999
    10Takuma SatoDale Coyne Racing231.670
    11Will PowerTeam Penske231.534
    12Jimmie JohnsonChip Ganassi Racing231.264
    13David MalukasDale Coyne Racing231.607
    14Josef NewgardenTeam Penske231.580
    15Santino FerrucciDreyer & Reinbold231.508
    16Simon PagenaudMeyer Shank Racing231.275
    17J.R. HildebrandA.J. Foyt Enterprises231.112
    18Conor DalyEd Carpenter Racing230.999
    19Callum IlottJuncos Hollinger Racing230.961
    20Alexander RossiAndretti Autosport230.812
    21Graham RahalRahal Letterman Lanigan230.766
    22Sage KaramDreyer & Reinbold230.464
    23Marco AndrettiAndretti Herta Autosport230.345
    24Devlin DeFrancescoAndretti Steinbrenner230.326
    25Colton HertaAndretti Autosport230.235
    26Scott McLaughlinTeam Penske230.154
    27Helio CastronevesMeyer Shank Racing229.630
    28Kyle KirkwoodA.J. Foyt Enterprises229.406
    29Dalton KellettA.J. Foyt Enterprises228.916
    30Juan Pablo MontoyaArrow McLaren228.622
    31Christian LundgaardRahal Letterman Lanigan227.053
    32Jack HarveyRahal Letterman Lanigan226.851
    33Stefan WilsonDragonSpeed/CusickN/A


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    - Advertisment -

    Must Read

    Vasseur: Ferrari make step forward… in terms of potential

    Ferrari Team Principal Frederic Vasseur has stated that the upgrades the team has brought to the 2023 Spanish GP have worked and have increased...
    - Advertisment -