Record-breaking Dixon proves why he’s IndyCar’s GOAT

Even contact and a spin on Lap 1 couldn't stop the Iceman from winning at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway


Scott Dixon has been a serial winner in the NTT IndyCar Series for two decades but he may have just produced his best win to date.

The 43-year-old broke Tony Kanaan’s record for consecutive starts in the series, 319 to be exact, at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway for the Gallagher Grand Prix but the race did not start well for the New Zealander.

Dixon got caught up in a Lap 1 incident which saw him spin and fall to the rear of the lead lap. He and Chip Ganassi Racing opted to pit under the very early caution and fuel save like a madman to get back on track.

From almost nowhere, Dixon went from out of it to the leader by several seconds and he is a very difficult driver to beat when he gets a sniff of the lead. Nobody in the IndyCar field could have lapped that quickly while saving the fuel required in yet another argument to suggest Dixon is the greatest of all time in the championship.

Graham Rahal will wonder how on earth he didn’t take his first win in six years having qualified on pole and led the vast majority of the race and running Dixon down to just a handful of tenths in the final laps.

Pato O’Ward eased away from Christian Lundgaard, who backed up his Rahal Letterman Lanigan teammate’s pace, for third with the Dane in fourth. Alexander Rossi claimed fifth as Will Power chased down and passed Alex Palou late in the race.

The moment the title race ended

Josef Newgarden was already on the backfoot after a dismal qualifying saw him start right towards the back of the field but Lap 1 almost certainly ended his 2023 title hopes.

An incident between Marcus Armstrong, Palou, Dixon and Romain Grosjean left the Team Penske car with nowhere to go but on top of Armstrong’s Chip Ganassi car. He lost a lap there and then under caution and that was effectively his race over.

IndyCar still has to go to World Wide Technology Raceway where Newgarden and Penske have been sensational in recent history but the points gap is enormous and there are still trips to Portland and Laguna Seca to come, tracks where Palou has been exceptional in the past.

Unless the Spaniard suddenly can’t finish a race to save his life, he should have the gap he needs to become a two-time IndyCar champion, even though his 2024 future seems far from clear.

The start of the 2023 Gallagher Grand Prix at Indianapolis | IndyCar
1Scott DixonChip Ganassi Racing
2Graham RahalRahal Letterman Lanigan
3Pato O’WardArrow McLaren
4Christian LundgaardRahal Letterman Lanigan
5Alexander RossiArrow McLaren
6Will PowerTeam Penske
7Alex PalouChip Ganassi Racing
8Scott McLaughlinTeam Penske
9Kyle KirkwoodAndretti Autosport
10Marcus EricssonChip Ganassi Racing
Joe Ellis
Joe Ellis
Joe Ellis is a motorsport journalist with experience working in BTCC. He is the resident IndyCar correspondent for and a top class F1 writer.
- Advertisment -


Lewis Hamilton at 2024 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix | Mercedes

Lewis Hamilton calls for two changes to bring back Monaco GP magic

Lewis Hamilton has suggested two major changes that could be made to the Monaco Grand Prix to help reinvigorate...
Fernando Alonso ahead of the Emilia Romagna GP at Imola

Fernando Alonso gives candid admission on performance amid Aston Martin struggles

Fernando Alonso believes he's not been good enough individually as Aston Martin have struggled to recapture their 2023 form...
Andrea Kimi Antonelli tests the Mercedes W12 in Austria in his first taste of F1 machinery | Mercedes F1 team

Max Verstappen offers Mercedes starlet Andrea Kimi Antonelli advice on joining F1

Max Verstappen has given his advice to Andrea Kimi Antonelli on the biggest changes he should expect if he...
Yuki Tsunoda of Visa Cash App RB ahead of 2024 Monaco Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Unwanted Yuki Tsunoda eyes Aston Martin switch as Red Bull say no

Yuki Tsunoda revealed he could be tempted to abandon the Red Bull program for Aston Martin ahead of the...
George Russell at 2024 Japanese GP | Mercedes

Russell explains how Mercedes are closing gap on Red Bull, McLaren and Ferrari –...

Mercedes are getting closer to Formula 1's current frontrunners Red Bull, McLaren and Ferrari according to George Russell, who...
Charles Leclerc during the 2024 Japanese Grand Prix weekend | Suderia Ferrari Press Office

Charles Leclerc reveals Ferrariā€™s key target to beat Max Verstappen in Monaco

Will 2024 be the year that Charles Leclerc finally breaks his Monaco Grand Prix curse? Heā€™s hoping so as...
Max Verstappen during the 2024 Monaco GP press conference | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Max Verstappen warns Red Bull to avoid ‘stressful’ repeat at Monaco GP

Max Verstappen has warned Red Bull they cannot risk a repeat of what happened at Imola as the team...
Nyck de Vries of AlphaTauri, leads Kevin Magnussen of Haas, and Valtteri Bottas of Alfa Romeo during 2023 Monaco GP practice | Sam Bagnall / LAT Images

Monaco GP 2024 F1 Schedule and Start Times

The 2024 Monaco Grand Prix sees the Formula 1 circus head to one of the one of the most...
Jake Dennis looks on at the 2024 Berlin E-Prix | Formula E

Jake Dennis downbeat about Formula E title chances: I need s**t to happen now

Reigning Formula E champion Jake Dennis isnā€™t optimistic about the chances of retaining his title, ahead of the 2024...
Formula E will visit the Shanghai International Circuit for the first time in 2024 | Formula E

Formula E returns to China as it takes on the Shanghai International Circuit

The drivers are certainly being kept on their toes this season. Formula E is heading to yet another new...
- Advertisment -