IndyCar 2023 – Indy 500 Race Results

    The final stages of the Indy 500 saw three red flags after three dramatic crashes


    A insanely dramatic end to the 107th running of the Indy 500 saw Team Penske driver Josef Newgarden taking the chequered flag to win the Greatest Spectacle in Motorsport in the penultimate corner of the final lap. 

    The first caution came out on Lap 90 when Sting Ray Robb hit the wall, and with plenty of clean running things were looking good for Felix Rosenqvist until he also slammed into the wall and then hit Kyle Kirkwood on the way back across the track. 

    That was with 15 laps to go and the race was red flagged, then on the restart Pato O’Ward, who was among the front runners, spun while tangling with Marcus Ericsson and smashed into the wall. 

    The incidents weren’t finished when Christian Lundgaard ran into Ed Carpenter before they had even crossed the start-finish line to begin the final four laps of the race. 

    That left a one lap shootout for the win and Newgarden passed Ericsson with two corners to go to take the chequered flag and his first ever Indy 500 win.  

    Indy 500 Final Race Results 2023

    1Josef NewgardenTeam Penske200 Laps
    2Marcus EricssonChip Ganassi200 Laps
    3Santino FerrucciAJ Foyt Enterprises200 Laps
    4Alex PalouChip Ganassi200 Laps
    5Alexander RossiArrow McLaren200 Laps
    6Scott DixonChip Ganassi200 Laps
    7Takuma SatoChip Ganassi200 Laps
    8Conor DalyEd Carpenter Racing200 Laps
    9Colton HertaAndretti Autosport200 Laps
    10Rinus VeeKayEd Carpenter Racing200 Laps
    11Ryan Hunter-ReayDreyer & Reinbold200 Laps
    12Callum IlottJuncos Hollinger200 Laps
    13Devlin DeFrancescoAndretti Autosport200 Laps
    14Scott McLaughlinTeam Penske200 Laps
    15Helio CastronevesMeyer Shank Racing200 Laps
    16Tony KanaanArrow McLaren200 Laps
    17Marco AndrettiAndretti Herta Autosport200 Laps
    18Jack HarveyRahal Letterman Lanigan199 Laps
    19C. LundgaardRahal Letterman Lanigan198 Laps
    20Ed CarpenterEd Carpenter Racing197 Laps
    21Ben PedersenAJ Foyt Enterprises196 Laps
    22Stefan WilsonDreyer & Reinbold195 Laps
    23Will PowerTeam Penske195 Laps
    24Pato O’WardArrow McLaren192 Laps
    25Simon PagenaudMeyer Shank Racing192 Laps
    26Agustin CanapinoJuncos Hollinger192 Laps
    27Felix RosenqvistArrow McLaren183 Laps
    28Kyle KirkwoodAndretti Autosport183 Laps
    29David MalukasDale Coyne Racing160 Laps
    30Romain GrosjeanAndretti Autosport149 Laps
    31Sting Ray RobbDale Coyne Racing90 Laps
    32RC EnersonAbel Motorsports75 Laps
    33Katherine LeggeRahal Letterman Lanigan41 Laps


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    - Advertisment -

    Must Read

    Max Verstappen reveals key to Red Bull F1 domination

    Max Verstappen has said that Red Bull's car balance, traction and tyre management have been key to the team's domination of the 2023 Formula...
    - Advertisment -