Everything you need to know about the IndyCar 2022 season finale

As an enthralling 2022 IndyCar championship comes to an end, here's what you need to know about the season finale


The 2022 IndyCar season has been one of the best in recent memory with a total of eight different winners, winning at least one race this season. As the season reaches its climax at the Firestone Grand Prix at Monterey, there are still five drivers who are in with a mathematical chance of clinching the title.

While attention will undoubtedly be on the main prize, it’s worth noting that the series has already crowned one champion. Mexican Patricio O’Ward is this year’s Oval Champion with the McLaren driver pipping ex-F1 star Marcus Ericsson, to claim the title for a second year running.

However, with everything still to play for, the atmosphere at the Laguna Seca racetrack will be electric with drivers up and down the grid looking to end their season strongly. Here’s what you need to know about this weekend’s finale:

Who are the title contenders?

Will Power goes into the weekend as the overwhelming favorite, with the Australian looking to claim his second IndyCar championship in a career that’s spanned 15 seasons. Behind him is the season’s most successful driver in terms of race wins, Josef Newgarden, and six-time IndyCar champion Scott Dixon, who go into the weekend level on points, with the pair looking to overturn a 20-point deficit to Power.

The final two contenders are 2022 Indy 500 winner Ericsson and three-time Australian SuperCars champion Scott McLaughlin, who are 39 and 41 points behind the leader respectively.

How many points are available in total?

A driver can score a maximum of 54 points this weekend. Here is the breakup:

  • 50 points for the race winner
  • Two points for leading the most amount laps
  • One point for leading at least one lap
  • One point for claiming pole position

Where is the race taking place?

The race will be contested at the Laguna Seca circuit in Monterrey, California. The circuit is 2.238 mi (3.602 km) long and features an elevation change of 180 ft (55 m). The racetrack has 11 corners in total, with its “Corkscrew” turn, one of the world’s most iconic corners.

The Laguna Seca race circuit by Penske Entertainment Corp.

The drivers will face a total of 90 laps around the demanding circuit.

What time does the race start?

The race will take place on September 11, with the action getting underway at 15:00 Eastern Time, 12:00 PST, 20:00 BST, or 5:00 AEST on September 12, if you’re tuning in from Australia.

Where can you watch the IndyCar season finale?

Fans in the United States can tune into the action on NBC Sport, the Peacock Streaming, or NBC Universo. Fans in the U.K. can watch the action on Sky Sports while viewers in Australia will be able to follow the action using the Stan.Sport streaming service.

Rahul Sharan
Rahul Sharanhttps://total-motorsport.com
Motorsport journalist for Total-Motorsport.com
- Advertisment -


Adrian Newey, the Chief Technical Officer of Red Bull during 2024 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Aston Martin executive gives cryptic update on Adrian Newey deal

Aston Martin’s technical director Dan Fallows has admitted Adrian Newey would be “a great asset” to any team but...
Oscar Piastri with the winners trophy at the 2024 Hungarian GP | McLaren F1 Team

Piastri wants McLaren discussion after Hungarian GP team orders chaos

Oscar Piastri called for a McLaren discussion regarding the team orders situation at the 2024 Hungarian GP as he...
The start of the 2024 Hungarian GP | Mark Thompson / Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Driver Ratings – 2024 Hungarian GP

Oscar Piastri stunned fans at the Hungaroring by taking his first career victory at the 2024 F1 Hungarian Grand...
Nick Cassidy walking down the pit lane at the 2024 London E-Prix | Formula E

Emotional Cassidy ‘incredibly sad’ to miss out in dramatic Formula E title race

Nick Cassidy was almost lost for words after he dramatically lost the 2024 Formula E title to Pascal Wehrlein...
Kyle Larson of the #5 HendrickCars.com Chevrolet, celebrates in victory lane after winning 2024 NASCAR Cup Series Brickyard 400 | NASCAR / Getty Images

Why NASCAR waited and ended the Brickyard 400 under caution

Kyle Larson, a Hendrick Motorsports driver, winning the Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on the thirty-year anniversary of...
Max Verstappen leads Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes during the 2024 Hungarian Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Max Verstappen slams Red Bull over shocking 2024 Hungarian GP performance

Max Verstappen slams Red Bull for a shocking display at the 2024 Hungarian GP, calling the car slow and...
Oscar Piastri celebrates winning the 2024 Hungarian GP | McLaren F1 Team

Emotional Oscar Piastri relives maiden F1 win at Hungarian GP

An emotional Oscar Piastri said his 2024 Hungarian GP victory was a “dream come true” as he took his...
Colton Herta wins the IndyCar 2024 Grand Prix of Toronto | Penske Entertainment: Travis Hinkle

Colton Herta Triumphs in Toronto, Ending 40-Race Winless Streak

Michael Andretti’s jubilant reaction following the IndyCar Grand Prix of Toronto at Exhibition Place was unmistakable as Colton Herta...
Pascal Wehrlein celebrates winning the Formula E championship at the London E-Prix | Formula E

Victory and redemption: Pascal Wehrlein’s road to becoming Formula E champion

Following a wide-open battle that boiled down to the very last race of the 2024 season, Pascal Wehrlein officially...
Mitch Evans looks on at the 2024 Portland E-Prix | Formula E

Evans hits out at Jaguar: Team were working against me in Formula E finale

Mitch Evans feels his Jaguar team were working against him during the Formula E finale in London as he...
- Advertisment -