Mitch Evans steers Jaguar to Berlin E-Prix domination after record 23 lead changes


A sensational strategic performance from Jaguar’s Mitch Evans earned the New Zealander victory in the first Formula E race of the 2023 Berlin E-Prix weekend, with his teammate Sam Bird completing a one-two for the team. 

Envision’s Sebastien Buemi took pole position earlier on Saturday, a record 16th in Formula E, and his second of the 2023 season, after beating out Bird in the Jaguar

There were a Formula E record 23 lead changes in the race and eight different leaders over the course of the E-Prix, with Buemi, Bird and Evans, who came from ninth on the grid, eventually cementing their place at the front as the race evolved. 

The slipstream effect in Formula E has seen drivers reluctant to lead the races for prolonged periods of time as it increases the amount of energy used significantly. 

In the final 10 laps Buemi led the Jaguar pair with Evans sitting ominously in third, before making his move first on Bird then the Envision car to move into first for the final three laps, eventually bringing the car home to the delight of the team principal James Barclay. 

“Anything is possible in this category,” Evans said after the race. “Especially with a race like that. 

“I found myself in the lead a little too early, with 17 laps to go. I felt like I had good pace, but it was just a little too long. 

“I half tried to break the tow a bit, but it wasn’t possible so I just re-thought my strategy. It was a very hard race to manage.”

Maxi Guenther pipped Buemi on the line to bag Maserati‘s first ever podium in Formula E, in a thrilling race at the Tempelhof Circuit to take the final podium position. Nick Cassidy in the second Envision was fifth. 

Crashes galore 

Dan Ticktum, who earned a sensational fourth pace on the grid, surged to the front of the pack in the opening lap and as leading the race for the majority of the opening stages. 

But a coming together with DS Penske’s Stoffel Vandoorne took both drivers out, which led to a heated exchange on the edge of the track. 

Jake Dennis tried an ambitious move on Guenther, overshooting Turn 6 and swiping the front of Antonio Felix da Costa’s Porsche

Rene Rast in the McLaren tagged Sergio Sette Camara, who also lost his front wing after a collision with Guenther

Berlin E-Prix 2023 – Round 7 Results

1Mitch EvansJaguar55:10:391
2Sam BirdJaguar+1.850
3Maxi GuentherMaserati+2.738
4Sebastien BuemiEnvision+2.849
5Nick CassidyEnvision+4.787
6Pascal WehrleinPorsche+9.111
7Jean-Eric VergneDS Penske+9.191
8Andre LottererAvalanche-Andretti+9.504
9Edoardo MortaraMaserati+10.159
10Oliver RowlandMahindra+10.308
John Smith
John Smith
Editor at and all round Motorsport journalist specialising in Formula 1, IndyCar and Formula E.
- Advertisment -


Lewis Hamilton at 2024 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix | Mercedes

Lewis Hamilton explains why F1 doesn’t need a transfer window

Lewis Hamilton has weighed in with his thoughts on whether Formula 1 should adopt a football-style transfer window to...
Max Verstappen leads Lando Norris of McLaren during the 2024 Canadian Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Forget Ferrari, McLaren are the biggest threat to Red Bull

The very fact that Lando Norris was disappointed and frustrated with finishing second at the Formula 1 2024 Canadian...
Sergio Perez looks on at the 2024 Canadian GP | Mark Thompson / Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Horner calls for Perez to bounce back as he heaps praise on Verstappen

Team principal Christian Horner for Sergio Perez to get back to from for the 2024 Spanish Grand Prix whilst...

Should F1 adopt a football-style transfer window for drivers? Max Verstappen is the proof...

Formula 1 is unlike any other sport, and that's fine - the F1 purists thrive on its unique qualities....

What went wrong for Will Brown, Cam Waters in NASCAR Cup debuts

The NASCAR Cup Series had some Australian flavour Sunday when Supercars Championship stars Will Brown and Cameron Waters made...

What we learned from the 2024 Canadian GP

Max Verstappen returned to the top step of the podium after a terrible 2024 Monaco Grand Prix with an...
Norman Nato leads the field at the 2024 Shanghai E-Prix | Formula E

Formula E 2024-25 calendar announced for first Gen3 Evo season

Formula E have announced its provisional calendar for the 2024-25 season, which will be the first campaign for the...
Race winner Max Verstappen celebrates after the 2024 Canadian Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Max Verstappen aces huge Canadian GP test as Red Bull and Perez falter

While Lando Norris was frustrated with his team, George Russell committed a litany of errors and Lewis Hamilton lamented...

F1 risks repeating mistake with new 2026 regulations announcement

Formula 1 CEO Stefano Domenicali unveiled the sport's much-heralded new era of racing promising "a new generation of car...

F1 Winners and Losers of the 2024 Canadian GP

The dust settled on a barnstorming 2024 Canadian Grand Prix weekend with Max Verstappen returning to the top step...
- Advertisment -