Jaguar confirm Nick Cassidy for 2024 Formula E seat

    Nick Cassidy and Mitch Evans will be Jaguar's Formula E line-up in 2024


    Jaguar have confirmed Nick Cassidy will join the seat for the 2024 Formula E season and beyond to make an all-Kiwi line-up at the team, after Mitch Evans also signed a new multi-year deal in August.

    Cassidy‘s announcement is no surprise as learned in London that he would replace Sam Bird, who is expected to join McLaren, with Rene Rast set to not feature on next year’s grid.

    “I’m very excited to be joining the Jaguar TCS Racing team for the 2024 ABB FIA Formula E World Championship and looking forward to racing for a team like Jaguar that has such a successful motorsport history,” said Cassidy.

    “This season has been my most successful to date, so I can’t wait to get behind the wheel of the Jaguar I-TYPE 6 and fight for points, podiums and wins.

    “Looking forward to having Mitch as a teammate, we have known each other since we were kids and have raced against each other for years, so I’m proud that we will be racing together and hope to continue to put New Zealand on the map in motorsport.”

    Formula E’s strongest line-up?

    Cassidy and Evans were Jake Dennis‘ closest challengers in 2023m with the trio regularly having a slight advantage over the rest of the field.

    The New Zealanders dramatically collided in the second race in Rome, which put a big dent in their title hopes, with Cassidy saying “Evans did most of the talking” when speaking to about the incident.

    But, they seemed to have cleared the air and Cassidy won the final race of the Formula E season to give Envision the teams’ championship.

    Nick Cassidy celebrates victory at the London E-Prix | Formula E

    Cassidy will drive in his fourth season of Formula E and Jaguar team principal James Barclay is delighted to sign him.

    “We are thrilled to announce that Nick Cassidy has joined Jaguar TCS Racing,” said Barclay. “Nick’s track record speaks for itself and he is someone we have always had our eye on back to his time racing in Japan.

    “Since joining Formula E he has gone from strength to strength and his 2023 season was very impressive. Nick was highly motivated to join the team and we are proud to welcome him into the Jaguar family.

    “We head into the new season with one of the strongest driver line-ups on the grid and, paired with the Jaguar I-TYPE 6 and our talented team, we will be looking to once again challenge for both the drivers and teams World Championship titles.”


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    - Advertisment -

    Must Read

    De Vries returns to Formula E as Mortara replaces Di Grassi...

    Nyck de Vries will return to Formula E after Mahindra announced a new driver line-up ahead of the 2024 season, with Edoardo Mortara joining...
    - Advertisment -