Updated 2024 Formula E calendar after Hyderabad E-Prix cancellation

Season 10 of Formula E will feature one less race than initially planned


The 2024 Formula E calendar has been reduced to 16 races after the Hyderabad E-Prix was cancelled ahead of Season 10 due to a change in governance.

A decision by the Municipal Administration and Urban Development Department (MAUD), under the control of the Government of Telangana in India, has left Formula E no choice than to accept there will be no race on the scheduled date of February 10.

Formula E say the decision of the Host City Agreement, signed on October 30, 2023, is a breach of contract and all of the championship’s rights are reserved.

“It is deeply frustrating that we cannot build on the success of the inaugural race last year, which delivered almost 84m USD in positive economic impact to the region,” said Formula E CEO Jeff Dodds.

“We are also disappointed for our major Indian partners, particularly Mahindra and Tata Communications. Racing in Hyderabad was important to showcase the benefits of adopting electric vehicles in a market where pollution from vehicle engines has a massive impact on public health and the environment.”

The news means there will be a seven-week gap between the double-header in Diriyah on January 26-27 to the fourth round of the season in Sao Paulo on March 16.

Mexico City will host the season-opener on on January 13, where Jake Dennis will begin the defence of his title from 2023.

World Champion Jake Dennis celebrates winning the 2023 title | Formula E

Formula E will visit Japan for the first time when they go to Tokyo on March 30. The European leg begins with Misano on April 13 and 14, followed by Monaco on April 27 and a double-header in Berlin on May 11 and 12.

Mainland China features on the schedule for the first time since Season 1 in 2015 as the Shanghai International Circuit will host a Formula E double-header on May 25 and 26. The track will be a shortened version of the Formula 1 circuit.

Jakarta is also off the calendar so there is another five-week break to Portland on June 29 and June 30, with London hosting the Formula E finale with two races on July 20 and 21.

2024 Formula E calendar

1Mexico City E-PrixJanuary 13
2Diriyah E-PrixJanuary 26
3Diriyah E-PrixJanuary 27
4Sao Paulo E-PrixMarch 16
5Tokyo E-PrixMarch 30
6Misano E-PrixApril 13
7Misano E-PrixApril 14
8Monaco E-PrixApril 27
9Berlin E-PrixMay 11
10Berlin E-PrixMay 12
11Shanghai E-PrixMay 25
12Shanghai E-PrixMay 26
13Portland E-PrixJune 29
14Portland E-PrixJune 30
15London E-PrixJuly 20
16London E-PrixJuly 21


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Must Read

- Advertisment -