F1 Spanish GP 2023 Race Results

Max Verstappen took a dominant victory at the 2023 Spanish Grand Prix ahead of Mercedes' Lewis Hamilton


Red Bull’s Max Verstappen was in dominant form once again, leading from start to finish as he easily took victory at the 2023 Spanish Grand Prix, crossing the finish line a massive 24s ahead of Lewis Hamilton in the Mercedes.

Verstappen’s Red Bull teammate Sergio Perez did a fantastic job to come through the field from 11th on the grid and eventually finish fourth, just behind George Russell in the Mercedes who came in third to make it a double podium for the Silver Arrows in the Formula 1 results.

Spanish driver Carlos Sainz, who was second on the grid in his Ferrari, fell down the order as the race went on eventually took the chequered flag in fifth place, as his car didn’t have the pace compared to the other front-running cars.  

The threat of rain loomed over the race, but never materialised in the end, nor did we see any safety cars, mirroring the outcome in the Miami GP. 

F1 Spanish GP 2023 Full Race Results

1Max VerstappenRed Bull+24.090
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes+32.389
3George RussellMercedes+35.812
4Sergio PerezRed Bull+45.698
5Carlos SainzFerrari+63.320
6Lance StrollAston Martin+64.127
7Fernando AlonsoAston Martin+69.242
8Esteban OconAlpine+71.878
9Zhou GuanyuAlfa Romeo+73.530
10Pierre GaslyAlpine+74.419
11Charles LeclercFerrari+75.416
12Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri+1 Lap
13Oscar PiastriMcLaren+1 Lap
14Nyck de VriesAlphaTauri+1 Lap
15Nico HulkenbergHaas+1 Lap
16Alexander AlbonWilliams+1 Lap
17Lando NorrisMcLaren+1 Lap
18Kevin MagnussenHaas+1 Lap
19Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo+1 Lap
20Logan SargeantWilliams+1 Lap

Where is the next F1 2023 race?

With the F1 circus finished in Spain, the next race is the 2023 Canadian Grand Prix which will be held at the Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve in Montreal over the weekend of June 16-18. 

John Smith
John Smithhttps://total-motorsport.com
Editor at Total-Motorsport.com and all round Motorsport journalist specialising in Formula 1, IndyCar and Formula E.
- Advertisment -


Start of the 2024 Chinese Grand Prix of | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 winners and losers from 2024 Chinese GP

Formula 1's return to Shanghai after a five-year absence sputtered with some bright moments but failed to really ignite...
Lando Norris during 2024 Chinese GP | McLaren F1 Team

Lando Norris shines in China but McLaren star remains F1’s nearly man

Lando Norris will come away from the Formula 1 2024 Chinese Grand Prix with a feeling of euphoria and...
Sergio Perez leads Lando Norris of McLaren during the 2024 Chinese Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Chinese GP 2024: Driver Ratings

Max Verstappen enjoyed total domination at the Formula 1 2024 Chinese Grand Prix to extend his lead at the...
Scot Dixon celebrate win at 2024 IndyCar Grand Prix of Long Beach | Penske Entertainment: James Black

How does he do it? IndyCar’s ultimate ninja pulls off sensational Long Beach heist

Nobody knows how he does it but Scott Dixon is a freak of nature when it comes to saving...
The cars get ready for the 2024GEICO 500 at Talladega | NASCAR/X

NASCAR 2024 GEICO 500 highlights and results: Reddick wins in Talladega

Reddick comes through for first Cup win The NASCAR Cup Series' GEICO 500 was oddly clean for a Talladega Superspeedway...
Lando Norris celebrates finishing second at the 2024 Chinese GP | McLaren

Lando Norris mystified at McLaren 2024 Chinese GP pace

If Max Verstappen didn’t exist, Lando Norris would be a Formula 1 race winner after he finished second at...
Red Bull Team Principal Christian Horner and Max Verstappen talk in the Paddock ahead of 2024 Australian Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Fiery Horner reignites Wolff feud over Verstappen rumours: I don’t think Toto’s problems are...

Christian Horner launched a stinging attack on Toto Wolff over the Mercedes team principal stoking rumours that Max Verstappen...
Toto Wolff at 2023 United States Grand Prix | Mercedes / Sebastian Kawka

Toto Wolff in ‘simple minds’ jibe at Horner over Max Verstappen

Toto Wolff has aimed a thinly-veiled swipe at Christian Horner by suggesting only 'simple minds' believe Max Verstappen would...
Daniel Ricciardo of Visa Cash App RB during Sprint Qualifying ahead of 2024 Chinese Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Daniel Ricciardo handed grid penalty for 2024 Miami Grand Prix

Daniel Ricciardo's challenging weekend at the 2024 Chinese Grand Prix has been compounded by a three-grid place penalty issued...
Guanyu Zhou gets emotional on the grid after the 2024 Chinese GP | Sauber

Zhou Guanyu in tears after making F1 history

In an emotionally charged scene at the end of the 2024 Chinese Grand Prix, Sauber's Zhou Guanyu achieved...
- Advertisment -