Ricciardo wins the Italian GP as Hamilton and Verstappen collide

McLaren's Daniel Ricciardo claims a historic win as Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton crash into each other at the 2021 Formula 1 Italian Grand Prix


Australian driver Daniel Ricciardo won the 2021 Formula 1 Italian Grand Prix, his first win since 2018 and McLaren first win since 2012, after title protagonists Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton crashed into each other at the first corner.

Ricciardo, who so has so far had a torrid season, made a blistering getaway at the start taking the lead off Verstappen and only lost the lead briefly after the first round of pit stops in what was a lights to flag victory.

His teammate Lando Norris was second, meaning McLaren became the first team to finish one-two this year, with Mercedes Valtteri Bottas finishing third after Red Bull’s Sergio Perez was given a five-second time penalty for an illegal move on Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc who was fourth.

Hamilton and Verstappen crash

While Ricciardo finally broke McLaren’s nine-year winless streak, the incident between Hamilton and Verstappen is sure to garner the most amount attention. With Red Bull uncharacteristically botching Verstappen‘s pitstop and Hamilton suffering a relatively slow stop a lap later, the drivers made their way into Turn 1 side by side after Hamilton’s stop.

With the British driver holding the inside line, Verstappen refused to yield his position and ultimately was forced onto the sausage herb, which ultimately catapulted his car onto the top of Hamilton’s meaning both drivers were forced to retire from the Grand Prix.

The result leaves Verstappen leading the Drivers’ Championship from Hamilton by five points with eight rounds left to go.

Bottas storms through the field

After claiming the sprint race on Saturday, Finnish driver Bottas found himself starting from the back of the grid after Mercedes elected to replace several components on his power-unit.

Despite starting the race from 19th on the grid, the outgoing Mercedes driver stormed his way through the field, overtaking a host of cars to finish fourth on track, with the aforementioned penalty to Perez boosting him up to third.

Bottas‘ result means Mercedes extend their lead over Red Bull in the Constructors’ Championship with the Brackley-based outfit now 18 points ahead.

McLaren’s Daniel Ricciardo celebrates with Lando Norris and McLaren CEO Zak Brown REUTERS/Jennifer Lorenzini

McLaren finally come good

It’s been a journey to say the least since McLaren last won a Formula 1 race at the 2012 Brazilian Grand Prix. The Woking-based outfit have been on the rise since 2018 and after threatening the front runners on several occasions over the past few seasons, finally broke their duck at Monza.

What’s more it was Ricciardo rather than Norris who took the win, in what is sure to be a confidence booster for the Australian who is now an eight-time Grand Prix winner.

Norris’ second place means McLaren scored a one-two their first since 2010, in what was a historic day for the British racing team.

Good day for Ferrari and Williams

With Leclerc claiming fourth and Carlos Sainz finishing sixth, Ferrari ensured that they didn’t lose too much ground to McLaren in their battle for third in the Constructor’s Standings. The Italian team will feel that they could have, at a stretch, challenged for a podium, however, the 20 points they claimed today could prove pivotal come the end of the season.

Williams scored points yet again, with George Russell finishing the race in ninth. The Grove-based squad seem to have hit a purple patch after registering just one point in two years, they now have 22 in their last four races.

With second driver Nicholas Latifi, finishing just outside the points in 11th, it wouldn’t surprise anyone if the once perennial back markers added to their points haul before the end of the season.

The Italian Grand Prix was the latest exciting chapter in what has so far proved to be an enthralling season, with the accident between Verstappen and Hamilton adding to the drama and McLaren’s renaissance finally complete, the final eight races are sure to provide a fitting conclusion to what has been a truly pulsating season.

John Smith
John Smithhttps://total-motorsport.com
Editor at Total-Motorsport.com and all round Motorsport journalist specialising in Formula 1, IndyCar and Formula E.
- Advertisment -


Colton Herta wins the IndyCar 2024 Grand Prix of Toronto | Penske Entertainment: Travis Hinkle

Colton Herta Triumphs in Toronto, Ending 40-Race Winless Streak

Michael Andretti’s jubilant reaction following the IndyCar Grand Prix of Toronto at Exhibition Place was unmistakable as Colton Herta...
Pascal Wehrlein celebrates winning the Formula E championship at the London E-Prix | Formula E

Victory and redemption: Pascal Wehrlein’s road to becoming Formula E champion

Following a wide-open battle that boiled down to the very last race of the 2024 season, Pascal Wehrlein officially...
Mitch Evans looks on at the 2024 Portland E-Prix | Formula E

Evans hits out at Jaguar: Team were working against me in Formula E finale

Mitch Evans feels his Jaguar team were working against him during the Formula E finale in London as he...
Pascal Wehrlein celebrates winning 2024 Formula E championship | Formula E

London E-Prix Results 2024 – Formula E Round 16

Pascal Wehrlein emerged victorious in one of the most dramatic races in Formula E history, securing his maiden Drivers'...
Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes battle for track position at Turn 2 during the 2024 Hungarian Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Max Verstappen escapes crash penalty: Blames Lewis Hamilton

Max Verstappen blames Lewis Hamilton for turning in too early for their Hungaroring crash on July 21 as the...
Lando Norris in action at the 2024 Hungarian GP | McLaren

F1 Standings after 2024 Hungarian Grand Prix

Oscar Piastri secured his first Formula 1 victory at the 2024 Hungarian Grand Prix amid internal McLaren drama with...
Porsche driver Pascal Wehrlein after winning Round 15 at the London E-Prix | Formula E

Wehrlein wins 2024 Formula E title after gripping London E-Prix

An unbelievable end to the 2024 Formula E season saw Pascal Wehrlein crowned champion at the London E-Prix after...
Pascal Wehrlein and Mitch Evans in action at the 2024 London E-Prix | Formula E

Formula E 2024 LIVE: London E-Prix Finale – Wehrlein becomes champion after huge drama

Welcome to this Total-Motorsport.com Formula E LIVE BLOG for Round 16 from the 2024 London E-Prix! This Sunday, we bring you real-time updates,...
Lando Norris during practice at the 2024 Hungarian GP | McLaren F1 Team

Norris blames McLaren for team orders debacle: Issues warning

Lando Norris blamed McLaren for the team orders chaos at the 2024 Hungarian GP as he waited until Lap...
George Russell in action at the 2024 Hungarian GP | Mercedes

F1 2024 Hungarian GP – Fastest Lap

George Russell set the fastest lap of the 2024 Hungarian GP with a 1:20.305 on a weekend when he...
- Advertisment -