Lewis Hamilton beats Michael Schumacher for another Formula 1 record

The Mercedes driver secured a podium finish at the 2023 Australian Grand Prix and made history in the process


Lewis Hamilton surpassed a long-standing Formula 1 record at the 2023 Australian Grand Prix by securing a podium finish.

The seven-time world champion crossed the line in second place behind Max Verstappen which saw him stand on the podium for a record 17th season in a row. Michael Schumacher previously held the record having scored podiums in 16 successive years between 1992 and 2006.

Schumacher briefly retired at the end of the 2006 season but came back in 2010 with Mercedes where he scored one further podium in the 2012 European Grand Prix in Valencia.

But Hamilton’s 17 straight podium seasons from 2007 to 2023 – every year he has been in F1 – surpasses Schumacher’s consecutive record and puts him only one podium year away from the outright record.

Hamilton has already surpassed Schumacher‘s pole position and race wins records while drawing level on seven world titles in 2020. The Brit has shown no signs of wanting to quit until he has secured that elusive eighth-world crown with Mercedes.

Michael Schumacher at 2012 European Grand Prix with Mercedes | Wolfgang Wilhelm/Mercedes F1 Team

Year by year

In 2007, the fresh-faced Hamilton stormed to a podium on debut for McLaren at Albert Park, the same circuit he scored his most recent although he will hope it’s not his last. He missed out on the championship by one point having scored 12 podiums in 17 races with four wins.

The 2008 F1 season saw him win his first world title with 10 podiums before a slump in 2009 with only five rostrums to his name.

Between 2010-2012 were his final three years with McLaren where he bagged 23 podiums across the three seasons but his move to Mercedes catapulted his tally.

Five podiums in 2013 was unspectacular but the new hybrid era saw the Silver Arrows become the dominant force. 16 podiums in 19 races in 2014 saw him win the championship again and set the tone for the next seven years.

He bagged 17 in 2015 and 2016 which were followed by 13 in 2017, 17 in 2018 and 2019 before he bagged another 14 in the shortened COVID-19 season of 2020.

He won the world title in all but one of those years – 2016 courtesy of Nico Rosberg – but 2021 saw him face a new challenger in Verstappen. Even another 17 podiums could not deny the Dutchman his first title.

He only managed nine podiums in 2022 and it was his first winless year in F1 but an early rostrum in 2023 is sure to relight the fire within for Hamilton.

Joe Ellis
Joe Ellis
Joe Ellis is a motorsport journalist with experience working in BTCC. He is the resident IndyCar correspondent for Total-Motorsport.com and a top class F1 writer.
- Advertisment -


Should F1 adopt a football-style transfer window for drivers? Max Verstappen is the proof...

Formula 1 is unlike any other sport, and that's fine - the F1 purists thrive on its unique qualities....

What went wrong for Will Brown, Cam Waters in NASCAR Cup debuts

The NASCAR Cup Series had some Australian flavour Sunday when Supercars Championship stars Will Brown and Cameron Waters made...

What we learned from the 2024 Canadian GP

Max Verstappen returned to the top step of the podium after a terrible 2024 Monaco Grand Prix with an...
Norman Nato leads the field at the 2024 Shanghai E-Prix | Formula E

Formula E 2024-25 calendar announced for first Gen3 Evo season

Formula E have announced its provisional calendar for the 2024-25 season, which will be the first campaign for the...
Race winner Max Verstappen celebrates after the 2024 Canadian Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Max Verstappen aces huge Canadian GP test as Red Bull and Perez falter

While Lando Norris was frustrated with his team, George Russell committed a litany of errors and Lewis Hamilton lamented...

F1 risks repeating mistake with new 2026 regulations announcement

Formula 1 CEO Stefano Domenicali unveiled the sport's much-heralded new era of racing in 2026 promising "a new generation...

F1 Winners and Losers of the 2024 Canadian GP

The dust settled on a barnstorming 2024 Canadian Grand Prix weekend with Max Verstappen returning to the top step...
George Russell at 2024 Bahrain Grand Prix | Mercedes / Sebastian Kawka

George Russell mistakes exposed as Mercedes face major concern

George Russell may have started the Formula 1 2024 Canadian Grand Prix on pole position, yet there was a...
Race winner Max Verstappen and third placed George Russell of Mercedes during press conference after the 2024 Canadian Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Driver Ratings – Canadian GP 2024

The Formula 1 2024 Canadian Grand Prix promised to offer unpredictability with interchangeable weather and, for fans at the...
Race winner Max Verstappen celebrates after the 2024 Canadian Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Max Verstappen warns Red Bull teammate Perez: You can afford these one-offs… sometimes

Max Verstappen fired a warning shot to Sergio Perez just days after his teammate extended his Red Bull contract...
- Advertisment -