Last 10 pole sitters and race winners at the Brazilian GP

Find out who the last 10 pole sitters and race winners at the Brazilian Grand Prix were ahead of this weekend's event in Sao Paulo


The Brazilian Grand Prix is one of the most spectacular events on the Formula 1 calendar, with drama and excitement guaranteed, no matter what the championship situation is.

Since 1973, F1 has visited Brazil every year, apart from the coronavirus-affected 2020, and more often than not it delivers.

There have been so many memorable moments in Sao Paulo, including Aryton Senna‘s two victories in 1991 and 1993, chaos in 2003 that saw Giancarlo Fisichella take the win, hearbtreak for Lewis Hamilton in 2007, before “Is that Glock” a year later.

The 2012 Brazilian GP had another title showdown, with Sebastian Vettel edging out Fernando Alonso and 2021 gave us Hamilton‘s stunning drive to beat a very aggressive Max Verstappen.

Interlagos is actually one of Hamilton‘s weaker venues, if there is such a thing, as he has won just three times in Brazil.

Hamilton has also had only three pole positions at the Brazilian GP, despite Mercedes‘ relative dominance at the track during the turbo-hybrid era.

Brazilian GP pole sitters 2011 to 2021

YearPole sitterTeam
2011Sebastian VettelRed Bull
2012Lewis HamiltonMcLaren
2013Sebastian VettelRed Bull
2014Nico RosbergMercedes
2015Nico RosbergMercedes
2016Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2017Valtteri BottasMercedes
2018Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2019Max VerstappenRed Bull
2021Valtteri BottasMercedes

Six of the last 10 Brazilian GP have been won from pole position, but most were not short of action.

In 2016, Hamilton led from start to finish in torrential rain, which is arguably one of the wettest races F1 has ran in over the last 10 years.

All eyes were on Verstappen though as he had a huge half slide and just missed hitting the wall, before strategy put him at the back of the field. He stormed through the pack in style though with daring overtakes as he finished in third, which is possibly his best non-win performance in his career.

In 2018, Verstappen was set to take a comfortable victory but came across Esteban Ocon, who he was about to lap. Verstappen tried to go around the outside of Ocon at Turn 2, but the Force India driver tagged him and turned the Red Bull around.

It handed first place to Hamilton and Verstappen made his emotions clear by pushing Ocon in parc ferme.

In 2019, Verstappen and Hamilton went wheel to wheel several times as strategy proved crucial in Sao Paulo. Verstappen came out on top, whilst Hamilton spun Alex Albon around.

Pierre Gasly took a sensational second place for AlphaTauri by pipping Hamilton to the finish line by 0.062 seconds, although the Mercedes driver received a post-race penalty anyway due to his incident with Albon.

Then, there was 2021. One of, if not, Hamilton‘s best ever weekend performance in F1.

After being disqualified from qualifying for a minor rear wing infringement, Hamilton started at the back for the sprint race.

He brilliantly got himself up to fifth, but started 10th for the Grand Prix due to a grid penalty for a new engine.

A sensational battle with Sergio Perez put Hamilton in second place after 20 laps, but there was still Verstappen to deal with.

Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton celebrates with a trophy as he celebrates winning the 2022 Brazilian Grand Prix | Pool via REUTERS/Lars Baron

Knowing he had a straight line speed disadvantage, Verstappen threw everything at Hamilton, including a move that took both drivers off the track at Turn 4.

Hamilton got the move done though with 16 laps to go, keeping his cool to take an incredible win.

Alain Prost has stood on the top step of the podium six times, the most of any driver, whilst McLaren are the most successful constructor, albeit there last win came in 2012 with Jenson Button.

Brazilian GP race winners 2011 to 2021

2011Mark WebberRed Bull
2012Jenson ButtonMcLaren
2013Sebastian VettelRed Bull
2014Nico RosbergMercedes
2015Nico RosbergMercedes
2016Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2017Sebastian VettelFerrari
2018Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2019Max VerstappenRed Bull
2021Lewis HamiltonMercedes
Nigel Chiu
Nigel Chiu
Nigel Chiu is an NCTJ-qualified journalist who worked at Total-Motorsport for 18 months until May 2023. He has been following F1 since 2007 and hasn’t missed a Grand Prix weekend since. Nigel’s worked with several motorsport websites, plus Eurosport and subsequently went on to work with Sky Sports F1 where he travels to multiple F1 races each season.
- Advertisment -


Liam Lawson prepares for free practice at the 2022 Mexican Grand Prix | Peter Fox/Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Red Bull bosses agree on Liam Lawson F1 prospects in 2025

Christian Horner and RB CEO Peter Bayer refused to back Liam Lawson's prospects for a full-time Formula 1 drive...
Carlos Sainz looks on at the 2024 Monaco GP | Ferrari

After Carlos Sainz’s Mercedes denial, why does his future remain an enigma?

Ferrari swinging the axe on Carlos Sainz's career in scarlet must have stung, but the Spaniard at least had...
Charles Leclerc dives into the Monaco harbour | Scuderia Ferrari Press Office

Where does Charles Leclerc rank 2024 Monaco Grand Prix win?

Charles Leclerc is a race winner for the first time in almost two years as the Ferrari ace crushed...
Charles Leclerc celebrates winning the 2024 Monaco GP | Scuderia Ferrari Press Office

What we learned from the 2024 Monaco Grand Prix

The 2024 Monaco Grand Prix may not have served up a classic, but it wasn’t short on storylines as...
Sergio Perez talks to his engineer Hugh Bird and team principal Christian Horner in the garage | Mark Thompson / Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Look away Checo – Horner praises Perez’s F1 rival as star fights for Red...

Christian Horner insists Red Bull will make a decision about Sergio Perez's Red Bull future "in the fullness of...
Max Verstappen during 2024 Monaco Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Winners and Losers of 2024 Monaco GP

Charles Leclerc vanquished his Monte Carlo demons to finally take victory at his home race, while Red Bull continued...
Daniel Ricciardo of Visa Cash App RB during the 2024 Monaco Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Driver Ratings – Monaco GP 2024

Charles Leclerc was in dreamland as the Ferrari driver finally celebrated an elusive victory at home race at the...
Josef Newgarden drinks his milk after winning the 2024 Indy 500 | Penske Entertainment: James Black

2024 Indy 500 Race Results

Josef Newgarden joined an elite group of drivers by winning the Indy 500 for the second consecutive year in...
Josef Newgarden celebrates winning the 2024 Indy 500 | Penske Entertainment: Amber Pietz

Newgarden takes sensational Indy 500 win after epic battle for glory

The Indianapolis 500 never fails to excite and even a four-hour rain delay couldn't dampen the drama for IndyCar's...
Tom Blomqvist crashes in Lap 1 at the 2024 Indy 500 | Penske Entertainment: Aaron Skillman

2024 Indy 500: Results and Highlights as Newgarden wins

Welcome to this Total Motorsport live blog for the 2024 Indy 500, is among the most prestigious motorsport events...
- Advertisment -