McLaren driver Lando Norris set to break unwanted Hulkenberg record

    McLaren's Lando Norris could break an unwanted Formula 1 record by the end of the 2023 season


    Labelled as one of the unluckiest Formula 1 drivers of the 21st century, Nico Hulkenberg could see one of his records eclipsed by McLaren man Lando Norris before the end of 2023.

    The German currently has the most points without a win in F1 but following his seventh place in the 2022 Italian Grand Prix, Norris has moved ahead of Romain Grosjean at into second place on that list.

    He’s amassed 394 points in his career so far whilst Hulkenberg finished his time in F1 (pending another Lance Stroll suspension/illness/injury) with 521, from 181 starts.

    It’s not the most famous record held by the 35-year-old, who has the most races without a podium, but Norris has at least avoided that fate with his third-place in the 2020 Austrian Grand Prix.

    Grosjean notched 391 points without a win, but Norris scored six points at Monza to surpass him in this unwanted category.

    A matter of time?

    So will it happen? Well, Norris has a margin of 127 points to overhaul, and sits on 88 for the 2022 season so far.

    On that trajectory, he would just have to repeat this campaign in 2023 to claim the record before that season’s Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, and so far there doesn’t seem much likelihood of him scoring his first race win.

    His closest chance so far was the 2021 Russian Grand Prix, where he secured a brilliant pole position on a drying track and led for 28 laps of the race, on course for the win until rain began to fall.

    Lewis Hamilton had been chasing behind and pitted for softs, while Norris tried to hold on but slid agonisingly off as the downpour intensified, eventually finishing seventh as Hamilton claimed his 100th victory.

    Norris certainly doesn’t seem any closer to the top step of the podium now, as McLaren have taken a step back in 2022 and have only managed one podium all season.

    After Monza, Norris had collected 88 points from 16 races across the campaign, averaging 5.5 points per race.

    If he continues on that trend through autumn 2022 and into 2023 he’ll break the record at the Japanese Grand Prix.

    Most points scored without a win

    1Nico Hulkenberg521184181
    2Lando Norris3947676
    3Romain Grosjean391181179
    4Nick Heidfeld259185183
    5George Russell2227676
    6Daniil Kvyat202112110
    7Alex Albon2015453
    8Lance Stroll181117116
    9Kevin Magnusen180136135
    10Kamui Kobayashi1257675
    Figures correct as of 2022 Italian Grand Prix

    Adjusted points table

    Norris shouldn’t be too disheartened though, with Formula 1’s current iteration of points rules being a large factor in him being close to, and maybe ultimately breaking Hulkenberg‘s record.

    When adjusted for today’s points system and not taking into account fastest laps or sprint races, Norris falls to seventh place on the list, with Hulkenberg also being knocked off top spot as Nick Heidfeld comfortably leads the points without a win list.

    The former Williams and BMW driver bagged a whopping 727 points (adjusted) without taking a win, though he did manage 13 podium finishes in his F1 career. 

    Second on the adjusted list is current F1 commentator Martin Brundle who picked up 536 points (adjusted) across 158 starts. 

    1Nick Heidfeld727
    2Martin Brundle536
    3Nico Hulkenberg513
    4Derek Warwick403
    5Chris Amon392
    6Romain Grosjean391
    7Lando Norris386
    8Stefan Johansson384
    9Eddie Cheever361
    10Andrea de Cesaris351


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    - Advertisment -

    Must Read

    Max Verstappen on Checo Perez Red Bull woes: No bearing on...

    Max Verstappen believes Sergio Perez's no score at the Monaco Grand Prix does not change the Formula 1 title battle between the two of...
    - Advertisment -