Chinese Grand Prix 2024 – Sprint Race Results

Red Bull's Max Verstappen came through from fourth on the grid to take victory in the 2024 Chinese GP Sprint Race

Fernando Alonso during 2024 Chinese Grand Prix | Aston Martin
Fernando Alonso during the 2024 Chinese Grand Prix | Aston Martin

Max Verstappen showcased his mastery of the F1 Sprint Race format with a thrilling victory at the 2024 Chinese Grand Prix Sprint, overcoming Lewis Hamilton who had started strongly from second place. Hamilton, aiming to end a 50-race winless streak since his last victory in Saudi Arabia in 2021, led initially but struggled with his Mercedes in slower corners.

Verstappen, after a challenging start that saw him battling Fernando Alonso and managing a flat battery, found his rhythm by Lap 7, overtaking Alonso under DRS and quickly closing in on Hamilton. A critical error by Hamilton at the hairpin on Lap 9 allowed Verstappen to take the lead and subsequently build a substantial gap.

Meanwhile, George Russell fought back from an 11th-place start to finish in the points, navigating past an early incident involving Sauber teammates Zhou Guanyu and Valtteri Bottas. Sergio Perez found himself caught between the Ferrari cars of Carlos Sainz and Charles Leclerc, eventually breaking through to take third place.

The race culminated in a tense battle for fourth, with Leclerc edging out Sainz after Alonso suffered a puncture, dropping back dramatically. The McLaren duo of Lando Norris and Oscar Piastri finished closely in sixth and seventh, adding to the intense midfield competition.

Chinese Grand Prix 2024 – F1 Sprint Race Results

1Max VerstappenRed Bull19 Laps
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes+13.043
3Sergio PerezRed Bull+15.258
4Charles LeclercFerrari+17.486
5Carlos SainzFerrari+20.696
6Lando NorrisMcLaren+22.088
7Oscar PiastriMcLaren+24.713
8George RussellMercedes+25.696
9Guanyu ZhouSauber+31.951
10Kevin MagnussenHaas+37.398
11Daniel RicciardoRB+37.840
12Valtteri BottasSauber+38.295
13Esteban OconAlpine+39.841
14Lance StrollAston Martin+40.299
15Pierre GaslyAlpine+40.838
16Yuki TsunodaRB+41.870
17Alexander AlbonWilliams+42.998
18Logan SargeantWilliams+46.352
19Nico HulkenbergHaas+49.630
20Fernando AlonsoAston MartinDNF



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here