F1 Brazilian GP 2022 Sprint Race Results

George Russell came from third on the grid to win the F1 Sprint Race at the 2022 Brazilian GP for Mercedes


George Russell took a stunning sprint race win and will start from the front of the grid for the 2022 Brazilian Grand Prix, after a hectic 24 laps in the F1 Sprint Race in Sao Paulo that saw Max Verstappen drop from first to fourth.

Polesitter Kevin Magnussen led the first lap for Haas, but was powerless to defend against the Red Bull, Ferrari and Mercedes cars and finished eighth, which is still a very good starting position for Sunday.

Verstappen was the only top-10 driver to start on the mediums and looked comfortable after passing Magnussen, but came under pressure from Russell around Lap 10, then losing the lead five laps later.

Carlos Sainz recovered to finish second after a disappointing qualifying session for Ferrari, but wasn’t able to challenge Russell for the win. However, he’ll start seventh due to a five-place gird penalty from an engine change.

Lance Stroll provided the entertainment further down the pack as the Canadian ran his teammate Sebastian Vettel off the track on the run to Turn 4, picking up a 10-second penalty for his troubles.

Lewis Hamilton, Daniel Ricciardo and Zhou Guanyu were put under investigation for start procedure infringements, but nothing was announced by the stewards as of the chequered flag.

F1 Brazilian GP Full Sprint Race Results

1George RussellMercedes30:11.307
2Carlos SainzFerrari+3.995
3Lewis HamiltonMercedes+4.492
4Max VerstappenRed Bull+10.494
5Sergio PerezRed Bull+11.855
6Charles LeclercFerrari+13.133
7Lando NorrisMcLaren+25.624
8Kevin MagnussenHaas+28.768
9Sebastian VettelAston Martin+30.218
10Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri+34.170
11Daniel RicciardoMcLaren+39.395
12Mick SchumacherHaas+41.159
13Zhou GuanyuAlfa Romeo+41.763
14Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo+42.338
15Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri+50.306
16Lance Stroll*Aston Martin+50.700
17Esteban OconAlpine+51.756
18Fernando Alonso)Alpine+53.985
19Nicholas LatifiWilliams+76.850
20Alex AlbonWilliamsDNF
  • Stroll – 10 second time penalty – Dangerous Manoeuvre
  • Alonso – 5 second time penalty – Causing a collision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Must Read

- Advertisment -