Belgian GP 2021 – Full starting grid

Max Verstappen took pole position for the 2021 Belgian GP with a sensational lap at the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps ahead of George Russell and F1 title rival Lewis Hamilton


The starting grid for the F1 2021 Belgian GP doesn’t look like it should after a brilliant performance from George Russell saw the Brit put his Williams on the front row of the grid behind the Red Bull of Max Verstappen

So good was Russell’s lap that even Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton was unable to better it and thus he will start behind the Williams in third position. 

Further down the Belgium GP starting grid, we see Daniel Ricciardo get his McLaren into fourth, just ahead of Sebastian Vettel’s Aston Martin.

Meanwhile, both Ferrari drivers – Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz – qualified outside the top 10, in ninth and 11th place respectively, but thanks to Valtteri Bottas and Lando Norris receiving five place grid penalties, they will move two places up the starting grid.

Belgian GP 2021 – Full starting grid

Pos.DriverTeamQ3 Lap
1.Max VerstappenRed Bull1:59.765
2.George RussellWilliams2:00.086
3.Lewis HamiltonMercedes2:00.099
4.Daniel RicciardoMcLaren2:00.864
5.Sebastian VettelAston Martin2:00.935
6.Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri2:01.164
7.Sergio PerezRed Bull2:02.112
8.Esteban OconAlpine2:03.513
9.Charles LeclercFerrari
10.Nicholas LatifiWilliams
11.Carlos SainzFerrari
12.Valtteri BottasMercedes2:02.502
13.Fernando AlonsoAlpine
14Lando NorrisMcLarenDNF
15.Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo
16.Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri
17.Mick SchumacherHaas
18.Nikita MazepinHaas
19.Lance StrollAston Martin
20.Kimi RaikkonenAlfa Romeo

Grid Penalties

Valtteri Bottas = Five place grid penalty for causing a collision at the Hungarian Grand Prix
Lance Stroll =Five place grid penalty for causing a collision at the Hungarian Grand Prix
Lando Norris =Five place grid penalty for gearbox change

John Smith
John Smith
Editor at and all round Motorsport journalist specialising in Formula 1, IndyCar and Formula E.
- Advertisment -


Jake Dennis of Andretti at the 2024 Misano E-Prix | Formula E

Dennis: Formula E brings something different, F1 is just a procession

Jake Dennis believes Formula E's peloton style of racing brings something different to motorsport in an era where Formula...
Pascal Wehrlein in action during the 2024 Misano E-Prix | Formula E

Wehrlein Secures Dramatic Misano E-Prix Win After Rowland Runs Out of Energy

In a stunning turn of events at the 2024 Misano E-Prix, Pascal Wehrlein seized a dramatic victory, capitalising on...
Pascal Wehrlein at the 2024 Misano E-Prix | Porsche Formula E Team

Results for Misano E-Prix 2024 Formula E Round 7

A dramatic end to Formula E Round 7 at the 2024 Misano E-Prix saw leader Oliver Rowland run out...
Oliver Rowland, Sebastien Buemi and Sam Bird battle at the Misano E-Prix | Formula E

Formula E Misano E-Prix 2024 Race 2 highlights and results: Wehrlein wins on dramatic...

Welcome to this Total Motorsport Live Blog for Round 7 of the 2024 Formula E World Championship, where history is set...
William Byron and crew chief Rudy Fugle celebrate victory in Martinsville in 2024 | NASCAR

How often are NASCAR Cup Series podium sweeps?

It almost feels too good to be true. Hendrick Motorsports winning on the 40-year anniversary of their first ever...
Lewis Hamilton faces the media at the 2024 Japanese GP | Jiri Krenek / Mercedes F1 team

Lewis Hamilton discusses the challenge of transitioning to Ferrari

Lewis Hamilton has admitted that he's not sure how to navigate the transition from Mercedes to Ferrari as it...
Antonio Felix da Costa looks on ahead of the 2024 Misano E-Prix | Formula E

Antonio Felix da Costa stripped of Misano E-Prix victory

Antonio Felix Da Costa of Porsche has been disqualified from the inaugural Misano E-Prix, resulting in his loss of...
Mitch Evans during the 2024 Misano E-Prix | Jaguar Formula E Team / LAT Images

Mitch Evans brands Max Gunther driving ‘dirty’ and ‘ridiculous’

Mitch Evans has hit out at Maximilian Gunther's driving in the first 2024 Misano E-Prix after the pair battled...
Mitch Evans leads the field in the first 2024 Misano E-Prix | Formula E

Is Formula E ‘crazy’ peloton-style racing too dangerous?

If you turned on the TV and watched the first 2024 Misano E-Prix, you would have seen Formula E...
Antonio Felix da Costa celebrates victory after the first 2024 Misano E-Prix | Formula E

Da Costa triumphs for Porsche in chaotic Misano E-Prix

Antonio Felix Da Costa triumphed in an electrifying race for Round 6 of the Misano E-Prix, marking his first...
- Advertisment -