F1 2023 Singapore GP Starting Grid – Final Grid Positions

Ferrari driver Carlos Sainz posted the best time in qualifying and is first on the starting grid for the 2023 Singapore GP


There was less than a tenth separating the top three drivers though the day belonged to Ferrari and Carlos Sainz after the Spaniard put in a sensational lap time to take first position on the starting grid for the 2023 Singapore GP

Sainz pipped the Mercedes of George Russell, who starts second at Marina Bay, while the Charles Leclerc in the second Ferrari will begin the race from third on the grid. 

Lando Norris in his upgraded McLaren will start an impressive fourth, just ahead of fellow Brit, Sir Lewis Hamilton, who will line up fifth on the grid in his Mercedes

The biggest surprise was Max Verstappen and Red Bull as the championship leaders failed to make it out of Q2 and will start from 11th on the grid, with Sergio Perez in 13th. 

Verstappen also avoided a grid penalty for impeding during qualifying, which would have further compounded a horrendous day in Singapore for the Dutchman. 

Aston Martin also announced that Lance Stroll, who has a massive crash in Qualifying, will not take part in the 2023 Singapore GP.

2023 Singapore GP starting grid

1Carlos SainzFerrari
2George RussellMercedes
3Charles LeclercFerrari
4Lando NorrisMcLaren
5Lewis HamiltonMercedes
6Kevin MagnussenHaas
7Fernando AlonsoAston Martin
8Esteban OconAlpine
9Nico HulkenbergHaas
10Liam LawsonAlphaTauri
11Max VerstappenRed Bull
12Pierre GaslyAlpine
13Sergio PerezRed Bull
14Alexander AlbonWilliams
15Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri
16Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo
17Oscar PiastriMcLaren
18Logan SargeantWilliams
19Zhou Guanyu*Alfa Romeo
Lance Stroll*Aston Martin
  • Zhou Guanyu – Setup of the car has been changed while under Parc Fermé. Required to start race from the pit lane.
  • Lance Stroll – Does not start
John Smith
John Smithhttps://total-motorsport.com
Editor at Total-Motorsport.com and all round Motorsport journalist specialising in Formula 1, IndyCar and Formula E.
- Advertisment -


The start of the 2024 Hungarian GP | Mark Thompson / Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Driver Ratings – 2024 Hungarian GP

Oscar Piastri stunned fans at the Hungaroring by taking his first career victory at the 2024 F1 Hungarian Grand...
Nick Cassidy walking down the pit lane at the 2024 London E-Prix | Formula E

Emotional Cassidy ‘incredibly sad’ to miss out in dramatic Formula E title race

Nick Cassidy was almost lost for words after he dramatically lost the 2024 Formula E title to Pascal Wehrlein...
Kyle Larson of the #5 HendrickCars.com Chevrolet, celebrates in victory lane after winning 2024 NASCAR Cup Series Brickyard 400 | NASCAR / Getty Images

Why NASCAR waited and ended the Brickyard 400 under caution

Kyle Larson, a Hendrick Motorsports driver, winning the Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on the thirty-year anniversary of...
Max Verstappen leads Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes during the 2024 Hungarian Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Max Verstappen slams Red Bull over shocking 2024 Hungarian GP performance

Max Verstappen slams Red Bull for a shocking display at the 2024 Hungarian GP, calling the car slow and...
Oscar Piastri celebrates winning the 2024 Hungarian GP | McLaren F1 Team

Emotional Oscar Piastri relives maiden F1 win at Hungarian GP

An emotional Oscar Piastri said his 2024 Hungarian GP victory was a “dream come true” as he took his...
Colton Herta wins the IndyCar 2024 Grand Prix of Toronto | Penske Entertainment: Travis Hinkle

Colton Herta Triumphs in Toronto, Ending 40-Race Winless Streak

Michael Andretti’s jubilant reaction following the IndyCar Grand Prix of Toronto at Exhibition Place was unmistakable as Colton Herta...
Pascal Wehrlein celebrates winning the Formula E championship at the London E-Prix | Formula E

Victory and redemption: Pascal Wehrlein’s road to becoming Formula E champion

Following a wide-open battle that boiled down to the very last race of the 2024 season, Pascal Wehrlein officially...
Mitch Evans looks on at the 2024 Portland E-Prix | Formula E

Evans hits out at Jaguar: Team were working against me in Formula E finale

Mitch Evans feels his Jaguar team were working against him during the Formula E finale in London as he...
Pascal Wehrlein celebrates winning 2024 Formula E championship | Formula E

London E-Prix Results 2024 – Formula E Round 16

Pascal Wehrlein emerged victorious in one of the most dramatic races in Formula E history, securing his maiden Drivers'...
Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes battle for track position at Turn 2 during the 2024 Hungarian Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Max Verstappen escapes crash penalty: Blames Lewis Hamilton

Max Verstappen blames Lewis Hamilton for turning in too early for their Hungaroring crash on July 21 as the...
- Advertisment -