F1 2023 Mexico City GP Starting Grid – Final Grid Positions

Charles Leclerc produced a sensational time in Qualifying and will start from first place on the grid for the 2023 Mexico CIty GP


Charles Leclec shocked everyone at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez and is first on the starting grid for the 2023 Mexico City Grand Prix after a sensational lap to claim pole position in qualifying in the Ferrari.

Just behind the Monegasque, his Ferrari teammate Carlos Sainz lines up second on the grid in Mexico, ensuring a front row lockout for the Scuderia. Max Verstappen starts third for Red Bull.

Daniel Ricciardo performed well above expectations in the AlphaTauri as he will start fourth in Mexico and hopes to be fighting at the front in Sunday’s race. Hometown hero Sergio Perez is fifth on the grid for Red Bull.

Perez is in a battle with Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton for second place in the drivers’ championship and the seven-time champion is beside him on the third row of the grid.

Hamilton’s Mercedes teammate George Russell is eighth on the grid, just behind Oscar Piastri in the McLaren. Meanwhile, both Alfa Romeos – Valtteri Bottas and Guanyu Zhou – are ninth and 10th on grid, respectively.

2023 Mexico City GP starting grid

1Charles LeclercFerrari
2Carlos SainzFerrari
3Max VerstappenRed Bull
4Daniel RicciardoAlphaTauri
5Sergio PerezRed Bull
6Lewis HamiltonMercedes
7Oscar PiastriMcLaren
8George RussellMercedes
9Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo
10Zhou GuanyuAlfa Romeo
11Pierre GaslyAlpine
12Nico HulkenbergHaas
13Fernando AlonsoAston Martin
14Alex AlbonWilliams
15Esteban OconAlpine
16Kevin MagnussenHaas
17Lando NorrisMcLaren
18Yuki Tsunoda*AlphaTauri
19Logan Sargeant*Williams
20Lance Stroll*Aston Martin
  • Yuki Tsunoda – Required to start from the back of the starting grid – Additional power unit elements have been used
  • Logan Sargeant – 10 place grid penalty – Overtaking under yellow flag conditions
  • Lance Stroll – Required to start from pit lane – Car modified whilst under Parc Fermé conditions
John Smithhttps://total-motorsport.com
Editor at Total-Motorsport.com and all round Motorsport journalist specialising in Formula 1, IndyCar and Formula E.
- Advertisment -


How a change of approach helped Jake Hughes take maiden podium at the Shanghai...

After 27 races, McLaren driver Jake Hughes took his first podium in Formula E, clinching second place at the...

Red Bull bosses agree on Liam Lawson F1 prospects in 2025

Christian Horner and RB CEO Peter Bayer refused to back Liam Lawson's prospects for a full-time Formula 1 drive...

After Carlos Sainz’s Mercedes denial, why does his future remain an enigma?

Ferrari swinging the axe on Carlos Sainz's career in scarlet must have stung, but the Spaniard at least had...

Where does Charles Leclerc rank 2024 Monaco Grand Prix win?

Charles Leclerc is a race winner for the first time in almost two years as the Ferrari ace crushed...

What we learned from the 2024 Monaco Grand Prix

The 2024 Monaco Grand Prix may not have served up a classic, but it wasn’t short on storylines as...

Look away Checo – Horner praises Perez’s F1 rival as star fights for Red...

Christian Horner insists Red Bull will make a decision about Sergio Perez's Red Bull future "in the fullness of...

F1 Winners and Losers of 2024 Monaco GP

Charles Leclerc vanquished his Monte Carlo demons to finally take victory at his home race, while Red Bull continued...

F1 Driver Ratings – Monaco GP 2024

Charles Leclerc was in dreamland as the Ferrari driver finally celebrated an elusive victory at home race at the...

2024 Indy 500 Race Results

Josef Newgarden joined an elite group of drivers by winning the Indy 500 for the second consecutive year in...

Newgarden takes sensational Indy 500 win after epic battle for glory

The Indianapolis 500 never fails to excite and even a four-hour rain delay couldn't dampen the drama for IndyCar's...
- Advertisment -
Exit mobile version