F1 2023 Japanese GP – Practice 2 results

Max Verstappen in the Red Bull was fastest in free practice 2 at the 2023 Japanese GP.


It was back to business as usual for Red Bull with Max Verstappen posting the fastest time in Free Practice 2, over three tenths ahead of Charles Leclerc in the Ferrari

Another impressive showing from Lando Norris saw the McLaren third fastest as he split the Ferrari cars with Carlos Sainz in fourth position. George Russell was fifth in the Mercedes with Aston Martin’s Fernando Alonso sixth. 

Lewis Hamilton was over a second behind Verstappen’s time and ended down in 14th position. Alpine’s Pierre Gasly brought out the red flag with just over two minutes to go after plowing into the barrier at Degner 2. 

F1 2023 Japanese GP – Practice 2 results

1Max VerstappenRed Bull1:30.688
2Charles LeclercFerrari+0.320
3Lando NorrisMcLaren+0.464
4Carlos SainzFerrari+0.549
5George RussellMercedes+0.640
6Fernando AlonsoAston Martin+0.804
7Alexander AlbonWilliams+0.867
8Oscar PiastriMcLaren+0.974
9Sergio PerezRed Bull+1.022
10Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo+1.051
11Lance StrollAston Martin+1.083
12Esteban OconAlpine+1.106
13Nico HulkenbergHaas+1.109
14Lewis HamiltonMercedes+1.141
15Liam LawsonAlphaTauri+1.453
16Zhou GuanyuAlfa Romeo+1.477
17Kevin MagnussenHaas+1.481
18Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri+1.490
19Pierre GaslyAlpine
20Logan SargeantWilliams+1.632
John Smith
John Smithhttps://total-motorsport.com
Editor at Total-Motorsport.com and all round Motorsport journalist specialising in Formula 1, IndyCar and Formula E.
- Advertisment -


Jake Dennis of Andretti at the 2024 Misano E-Prix | Formula E

Dennis: Formula E brings something different, F1 is just a procession

Jake Dennis believes Formula E's peloton style of racing brings something different to motorsport in an era where Formula...
Pascal Wehrlein in action during the 2024 Misano E-Prix | Formula E

Wehrlein Secures Dramatic Misano E-Prix Win After Rowland Runs Out of Energy

In a stunning turn of events at the 2024 Misano E-Prix, Pascal Wehrlein seized a dramatic victory, capitalising on...
Pascal Wehrlein at the 2024 Misano E-Prix | Porsche Formula E Team

Results for Misano E-Prix 2024 Formula E Round 7

A dramatic end to Formula E Round 7 at the 2024 Misano E-Prix saw leader Oliver Rowland run out...
Oliver Rowland, Sebastien Buemi and Sam Bird battle at the Misano E-Prix | Formula E

Formula E Misano E-Prix 2024 Race 2 highlights and results: Wehrlein wins on dramatic...

Welcome to this Total Motorsport Live Blog for Round 7 of the 2024 Formula E World Championship, where history is set...
William Byron and crew chief Rudy Fugle celebrate victory in Martinsville in 2024 | NASCAR

How often are NASCAR Cup Series podium sweeps?

It almost feels too good to be true. Hendrick Motorsports winning on the 40-year anniversary of their first ever...
Lewis Hamilton faces the media at the 2024 Japanese GP | Jiri Krenek / Mercedes F1 team

Lewis Hamilton discusses the challenge of transitioning to Ferrari

Lewis Hamilton has admitted that he's not sure how to navigate the transition from Mercedes to Ferrari as it...
Antonio Felix da Costa looks on ahead of the 2024 Misano E-Prix | Formula E

Antonio Felix da Costa stripped of Misano E-Prix victory

Antonio Felix Da Costa of Porsche has been disqualified from the inaugural Misano E-Prix, resulting in his loss of...
Mitch Evans during the 2024 Misano E-Prix | Jaguar Formula E Team / LAT Images

Mitch Evans brands Max Gunther driving ‘dirty’ and ‘ridiculous’

Mitch Evans has hit out at Maximilian Gunther's driving in the first 2024 Misano E-Prix after the pair battled...
Mitch Evans leads the field in the first 2024 Misano E-Prix | Formula E

Is Formula E ‘crazy’ peloton-style racing too dangerous?

If you turned on the TV and watched the first 2024 Misano E-Prix, you would have seen Formula E...
Antonio Felix da Costa celebrates victory after the first 2024 Misano E-Prix | Formula E

Da Costa triumphs for Porsche in chaotic Misano E-Prix

Antonio Felix Da Costa triumphed in an electrifying race for Round 6 of the Misano E-Prix, marking his first...
- Advertisment -