F1 2023 Canadian GP – Practice 2 Results

    Mercedes were first and second fastest in FP2 at the 2023 Canadian GP


    An extended Free Practice 2 session at the Canadian Grand Prix 2023 was topped by Mercedes pair Lewis Hamilton and George Russell, with the seven-time Formula 1 champion 0.027s ahead of his teammate. 

    After the technical issue caused by faulty CCTV curtailing FP1, the FIA added an extra 30 minutes to Friday’s second practice session. 

    Fernando Alonso in the Aston Martin was sandwiched between the Ferrari cars of Carlos Sainz and Charles Leclerc, with the Red Bull of Max Verstappen finishing with the sixth fastest time of the session. 

    It must be said that the Red Bull drivers of Verstappen and Sergio Perez, who was eighth, being 0.424s and 0.532s behind Hamilton, respectively, though they both set their fastest times on the medium tyres, with the Mercedes on softs. 

    The Alfa Romeo of Valtteri Bottas found himself in a solid seventh place, with Aston Martin’s Lance Stroll ninth and Pierre Gasly in the Alpine rounding out the top 10. 

    F1 Canadian GP 2023 – FP2 Results

    1Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:13.718
    2George RussellMercedes+0.027
    3Carlos SainzFerrari+0.126
    4Fernando AlonsoAston Martin+0.326
    5Charles LeclercFerrari+0.376
    6Max VerstappenRed Bull+0.424
    7Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo+0.502
    8Sergio PerezRed Bull+0.532
    9Lance StrollAston Martin+0.701
    10Pierre GaslyAlpine+0.759
    11Oscar PiastriMcLaren+0.815
    12Kevin MagnussenHaas+0.826
    13Lando NorrisMcLaren+0.899
    14Zhou GuanyuAlfa Romeo+1.093
    15Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri+1.223
    16Nyck de VriesAlphaTauri+1.284
    17Alex AlbonWilliams+1.285
    18Esteban OconAlpine+1.374
    19Logan SargeantWilliams+1.708
    20Nico HulkenbergHaas+2.651 


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    - Advertisment -

    Must Read

    F1 2023 Japanese GP – Driver Ratings

    Normal service has resumed as Max Verstappen dominated proceedings to win the 2023 Japanese Grand Prix, securing Red Bull’s second consecutive constructors' championship. Lando Norris...
    - Advertisment -