F1 2023 Austrian Grand Prix – Sprint Race results

Max Verstappen took yet another F1 Sprint victory at the Red Bull Ring


Max Verstappen eased to victory in an entertaining 2023 Austrian Grand Prix sprint race, as Nico Hulkenberg was cruelly denied a first podium in Formula 1 by Sergio Perez and Carlos Sainz.

After the uneventful 2022 Austrian GP sprint, this was a fantastic 24 laps of action that started in the wet but finished on a drying track with runners on intermediate and dry tyres.

It was a dramatic start as Perez jumped his teammate and then forced Verstappen onto the grass on the exit of the first corner, but Verstappen got payback up at turn three.

Diving up the inside Verstappen ran very wide up to the edge of the track blocking his teammate’s path and bringing the cars behind almost to a standstill.

But after getting away with that manoeuvre, Verstappen was untroubled for the rest of the race and won by over 20 seconds from Perez.

Hulkenberg had overtaken Perez in the confusion and ran second for half of the race, but after the Red Bull retook the position Hulkenberg plummeted down the order.

The Mercedes had a fantastic start after lining up 15th and 18th on the grid, but were bogged down until George Russell broke the race wide open as the first driver to pit for slick tyres on the drying track.

That caused a chaotic last few laps with most drivers outside the points switching to slicks and a plethora of overtakes as they bore down on the intermediate runners while struggling for grip and tyre temperature.

Lance Stroll leads Aston Martin teammate Fernando Alonso at the 2023 Austrian GP sprint race | Aston Martin F1 Team

F1 2023 Austrian GP – Sprint Race Results

1Max VerstappenRed Bull30:26.730
2Sergio PerezRed Bull+21.048
3Carlos SainzFerrari+23.088
4Lance StrollAston Martin+29.703
5Fernando AlonsoAston Martin+30.109
6Nico HulkenbergHaas+31.297
7Esteban OconAlpine+36.602
8George RussellMercedes+36.611
9Lando NorrisMcLaren+38.608
10Lewis HamiltonMercedes+46.375
11Oscar PiastriMcLaren+49.807
12Charles LeclercFerrari+50.789
13Alex AlbonWilliams+52.848
14Kevin MagnussenHaas+56.593
15Pierre GaslyAlpine+57.652
16Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri+64.882
17Nyck de VriesAlphaTauri+65.617
18Logan SargeantWilliams+66.059
19Zhou GuanyuAlfa Romeo+70.825
20Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo+76.435
Adam Dickinson
Adam Dickinson
An international multi-award-winning journalist, Adam Dickinson has written for Total-Motorsport.com since June 2022 and also contributes to TNT Sports, Eurosport and the Rugby Paper. He's also had articles published in the Daily Telegraph and several local newspapers, previously worked for Last-Lap.co.uk and FeederSeries.net in motorsport, and graduated with a First-Class Journalism Degree from the University of Sheffield having also studied in Oklahoma. Adam started watching F1 by accident in 2007, catching the last race in Indianapolis, and attended his first race as a journalist at the 2023 British Grand Prix.
- Advertisment -


Max Verstappen in the F1 paddock ahead of the 2024 Spanish Grand Prix | Chris Graythen / Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Mercedes chairman flirts with Max Verstappen: He’d look good in silver

One of the most important figures within Mercedes AMG, Ola Kallenius, has declared Max Verstappen “would look good in...
Carlos Sainz during practice for the 2024 Spanish GP | Scuderia Ferrari Press Office

Carlos Sainz hits out at Lewis Hamilton over unpunished Spanish GP move

Carlos Sainz believes Lewis Hamilton should've been given a penalty for his overtaking move that forced the Ferrari driver...
Max Verstappen during 2024 Spanish GP Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Max Verstappen warning to Red Bull and demands improvement

Max Verstappen demands Red Bull improvement as another tough race saw the reigning world champion have to really work...
Start of the 2024 Spanish Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

LIVE F1 Spanish Grand Prix 2024 – Reaction as McLaren mistakes costly as Verstappen...

Welcome to Total-Motorsport’s F1 live coverage of the Spanish GP 2024. Held at the iconic Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, today’s race...
Lewis Hamilton during 2024 Spanish GP weekend | Mercedes

Lewis Hamilton brushes off furious Sainz after Spanish GP incident

Lewis Hamilton risked angering Carlos Sainz after claiming the Ferrari driver "left the door open" to overtake him during...
Lando Norris of McLaren after the 2024 Spanish Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Lando Norris: McLaren easily had the best car at Spanish GP

Lando Norris believes Spanish GP victory should have been his as McLaren had the best car in Barcelona, but...
Red Bull Team Principal Christian Horner at the 2024 Monaco Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Christian Horner warns of Norris danger to Verstappen after Spanish GP battle

Red Bull team principal Christian Horner warned that Lando Norris and McLaren are their strongest competitors following a nail-biting...
McLaren team principal Andrea Stella at the 2023 Belgian GP | McLaren F1 team

McLaren chief pinpoints where 2024 Spanish GP was lost

McLaren's team boss they lost the 2024 Spanish GP by Turn 1 as a poor start saw Lando Norris...
Max Verstappen, Lando Norris and Lewis Hamilton on the podium after the 2024 Spanish GP | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Standings after 2024 Spanish Grand Prix

Max Verstappen showcased his racing prowess at the 2024 Spanish Grand Prix, clinching his seventh victory of the Formula...
Lando Norris during the 2024 Spanish GP weekend | McLaren

F1 Fastest Lap: Spanish GP 2024

The Spanish GP Fastest Lap award is given to the driver who posts the quickest time over one timed...
- Advertisment -