F1 2022 Saudi Arabian GP Qualifying Results

The second Formula 1 race of the 2022 season sees Sergio Perez take pole position at the Jeddah Corniche Circuit


A super lap from Sergio Perez put the Red Bull driver on pole position for the 2022 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix, just pipping the Ferrari of Charles Leclerc by just 0.025s with Carlos Sainz in the second Ferrari rounding out the top three. Max Verstappen qualified in fourth.

The session was punctuated by two red flags as both Nicholas Latifi and Mick Schumacher crashed out, with the latter’s incident causing a delay of almost an hour. Thankfully the Haas driver is conscious and on his way to the medical centre.

Probably the biggest surprise in Qualifying was Lewis Hamilton as he was knocked out in Q1 with a time that could only put him in 16th place. 

PosDriverTeamQ3 Time
1Sergio PerezRed Bull1:28.200
2Charles LeclercFerrari+0.025
3Carlos SainzFerrari+0.202
4Max VerstappenRed Bull+0.261
5Esteban OconAlpine+0.868
6George RussellMercedes+0.904
7Fernando AlonsoAlpine+0.947
8Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo+0.983
9Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri+1.054
10Kevin MagnussenHaas+1.388
11Lando NorrisMcLarenEliminated in Q2
12Daniel RicciardoMcLarenEliminated in Q2
13Guanyu ZhouAlfa RomeoEliminated in Q2
14Mick SchumacherHaasEliminated in Q2
15Lance StrollAston MartinEliminated in Q2
16Lewis HamiltonMercedesEliminated in Q1
17Alex AlbonWilliamsEliminated in Q1
18Nico HulkenbergAston MartinEliminated in Q1
19Nicholas LatifiWilliamsEliminated in Q1
20Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauriEliminated in Q1

John Smith
John Smithhttps://total-motorsport.com
Editor at Total-Motorsport.com and all round Motorsport journalist specialising in Formula 1, IndyCar and Formula E.
- Advertisment -


Jake Dennis of Andretti at the 2024 Misano E-Prix | Formula E

Dennis: Formula E brings something different, F1 is just a procession

Jake Dennis believes Formula E's peloton style of racing brings something different to motorsport in an era where Formula...
Pascal Wehrlein in action during the 2024 Misano E-Prix | Formula E

Wehrlein Secures Dramatic Misano E-Prix Win After Rowland Runs Out of Energy

In a stunning turn of events at the 2024 Misano E-Prix, Pascal Wehrlein seized a dramatic victory, capitalising on...
Pascal Wehrlein at the 2024 Misano E-Prix | Porsche Formula E Team

Results for Misano E-Prix 2024 Formula E Round 7

A dramatic end to Formula E Round 7 at the 2024 Misano E-Prix saw leader Oliver Rowland run out...
Oliver Rowland, Sebastien Buemi and Sam Bird battle at the Misano E-Prix | Formula E

Formula E Misano E-Prix 2024 Race 2 highlights and results: Wehrlein wins on dramatic...

Welcome to this Total Motorsport Live Blog for Round 7 of the 2024 Formula E World Championship, where history is set...
William Byron and crew chief Rudy Fugle celebrate victory in Martinsville in 2024 | NASCAR

How often are NASCAR Cup Series podium sweeps?

It almost feels too good to be true. Hendrick Motorsports winning on the 40-year anniversary of their first ever...
Lewis Hamilton faces the media at the 2024 Japanese GP | Jiri Krenek / Mercedes F1 team

Lewis Hamilton discusses the challenge of transitioning to Ferrari

Lewis Hamilton has admitted that he's not sure how to navigate the transition from Mercedes to Ferrari as it...
Antonio Felix da Costa looks on ahead of the 2024 Misano E-Prix | Formula E

Antonio Felix da Costa stripped of Misano E-Prix victory

Antonio Felix Da Costa of Porsche has been disqualified from the inaugural Misano E-Prix, resulting in his loss of...
Mitch Evans during the 2024 Misano E-Prix | Jaguar Formula E Team / LAT Images

Mitch Evans brands Max Gunther driving ‘dirty’ and ‘ridiculous’

Mitch Evans has hit out at Maximilian Gunther's driving in the first 2024 Misano E-Prix after the pair battled...
Mitch Evans leads the field in the first 2024 Misano E-Prix | Formula E

Is Formula E ‘crazy’ peloton-style racing too dangerous?

If you turned on the TV and watched the first 2024 Misano E-Prix, you would have seen Formula E...
Antonio Felix da Costa celebrates victory after the first 2024 Misano E-Prix | Formula E

Da Costa triumphs for Porsche in chaotic Misano E-Prix

Antonio Felix Da Costa triumphed in an electrifying race for Round 6 of the Misano E-Prix, marking his first...
- Advertisment -