F1 2022 Miami GP Qualifying Results

The inaugural Formula 1 race in Miami sees Charles Leclerc in the Ferrari take pole position at the Miami International Autodrome


Charles Leclerc led Ferrari teammate Carlos Sainz to a front row lockout at the 2022 Miami GP with a blistering lap in Qualifying. 

After Max Verstappen had laid down a marker in the first runs, Leclerc went two tenths faster in the final moments, with Sainz also leapfrogging the Red Bull driver after he pulled out of his final run. 

It was heartbreak for Mercedes’ George Russell and the McLaren of Daniel Ricciardo in Q2, with the pair eliminated along with Sebastian Vettel in the Aston Martin, and Fernando Alonso just missing out in 11th.  

F1 Miami GP 2022 – Qualifying Results

PosDriverTeamQ3 time
1Charles LeclercFerrari1:28.796
2Carlos SainzFerrari+0.190
3Max VerstappenRed Bull+0.195
4Sergio PerezRed Bull+0.240
5Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo+0.679
6Lewis HamiltonMercedes+0.829
7Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri+0.894
8Lando NorrisMcLaren+0.954
9Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri+1.136
10Lance StrollAston Martin+1.880
11Fernando AlonsoAlpineEliminated in Q2
12George RussellMercedesEliminated in Q2
13Sebastian VettelAston MartinEliminated in Q2
14Daniel RicciardoMcLarenEliminated in Q2
15Mick SchumacherHaasEliminated in Q2
16Kevin MagnussenHaasEliminated in Q1
17Guanyu ZhouAlfa RomeoEliminated in Q1
18Alexander AlbonWilliamsEliminated in Q1
19Nicholas LatifiWilliamsEliminated in Q1
20Esteban OconAlpineEliminated in Q1
John Smith
John Smithhttps://total-motorsport.com
Editor at Total-Motorsport.com and all round Motorsport journalist specialising in Formula 1, IndyCar and Formula E.
- Advertisment -


Charles Leclerc Monaco GP record: Ferrari star out to banish seven-year curse

After growing up in Monaco, Charles Leclerc must know the streets of Monte Carlo like the back of his...
Joey Logano leads the field at the NASCAR Cup Series All-Star Race at North Wilkesboro Speedway | NASCAR

Was the NASCAR All-Star Race’s option tyre a success?

The NASCAR All-Star Race is often used as a testing ground for concepts that might be incorporated into points...
McLaren F1 launch bespoke Senna livery for the 2024 Monaco GP | McLaren

McLaren unveil stunning Senna tribute livery for 2024 Monaco GP

McLaren have announced a special Ayrton Senna-inspired livery for the 2024 Formula 1 Monaco Grand Prix, celebrating the legendary...
Lewis Hamilton during 2024 Australian GP | Mercedes / Sulay Kelly

Race to replace Lewis Hamilton at Mercedes down to two candidates

As Lewis Hamilton prepares to leave Mercedes for Ferrari ahead of the 2025 Formula 1 season, there has been...
Ollie Bearman with his new helmet ahead of his practice outing in Imola for Haas

Haas boss outlines how Oliver Bearman can secure 2025 F1 seat after Imola audition

Oliver Bearman has been hailed for his faultless performance by Haas team principal Ayao Komatsu in practice at the...

Esteban Ocon tempted by Mercedes 2025 switch as Alpine doubts emerge

Esteban Ocon has opened the door to replacing Lewis Hamilton at Mercedes, as the Alpine driver ponders his future...
Toto Wolff at 2023 United States Grand Prix | Mercedes / Sebastian Kawka

Toto Wolff ‘can’t wait’ to prove Horner wrong after latest Mercedes jibe

Mercedes boss Toto Wolff has fired back at Christian Horner for suggesting over 200 employees left Mercedes for Red...
Race winner Max Verstappen and runner-up Lando Norris of McLaren celebrate on the podium after the 2024 Emilia Romagna GP | Mark Thompson/Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Winners and Losers from 2024 Emilia Romagna GP

Lando Norris' miraculous late-race pace brought a previously lacklustre 2024 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix to life as the McLaren...
Max Verstappen leads Lando Norris of McLaren at the start of the 2024 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Driver Ratings – Emilia Romagna GP 2024

Max Verstappen returned to the top of the podium after seeing off a late challenge from Lando Norris to...
Scott McLaughlin at 2024 Indy 500 Pole Day | Penske Entertainment: Joe Skibinski

Scott McLaughlin secures pole for Indy 500, as Team Penske sweep front row

Scott McLaughlin clinched the P1 Award in IndyCar's Fast Six qualifying for the 108th Indy 500, leading Team Penske...
- Advertisment -