Formula 1 2022 driver salaries

Lewis Hamilton is once again F1's highest earner in 2022, but is now joined by Red Bull's Max Verstappen


Despite losing his crown to Max Verstappen, Lewis Hamilton remains the highest earner in Formula 1 with an estimated salary of around €35 million. However, the British star is now joined by 2021 World Champion Verstappen who now takes home a reported €35 million, after the signing of his long term deal with Red Bull.

Make sure and check out the F1 Driver Salaries 2023

Behind the 2021 championship protagonists, Lando Norris is on a reported €24 million per season, and after an excellent 2021 campaign the Brit was given a pay bump despite signing a new deal in the summer. Norris also represents McLaren’s long-term future with the British ace contracted to the team until 2025.

Fourth on the list is Alpine’s Fernando Alonso, who despite entering his 40s commands a hefty salary of around €17.5 million. The Spaniard’s value stems from his ability to develop the Alpine race car as well as his marketing potential given his status as a double world champion. Alonso’s contract with the Enstone-based team expires at the end of the 2022 season.

Aston Martin’s Sebastian Vettel and McLaren’s Daniel Ricciardo rounded out the top five, with both drivers said to be on an estimated €13 million.

George Russell, who swapped Williams for Mercedes, will pocket €4.5m, while Valtteri Bottas, the man Russell replaced has secured himself a deal worth €8.5m a year at Alfa Romeo.

Other notable figures include F1 returnee Alex Albon, who will take home €1.75 million at Williams, while F1 debutant Guanyu Zhou, will earn a reported €850,000 during his rookie season.

F1 2022 Driver Salaries

DriverSalaryContract DurationTeam
1.Lewis Hamilton€35 million2023Mercedes
2.Max Verstappen€35 million2028Red Bull
3.Lando Norris€24 million2025McLaren
4.Fernando Alonso€17.5 million2022Alpine
5.Daniel Ricciardo€13 million2022+*McLaren
6.Sebastian Vettel€13 million2023+*Aston Martin
7.Carlos Sainz€11 million2024Ferrari
8.Charles Leclerc€10.5 million2024Ferrari
9.Valtteri Bottas€8.5 million2025Alfa Romeo
10.Lance Stroll€8.5 millionIndefiniteAston Martin
11.Sergio Perez€7.0 million2022Red Bull
12.George Russell€4.5 million2023Mercedes
13.Esteban Ocon€4.5 million2024Alpine
14.Pierre Gasly€4.5 million2023AlphaTauri
15.Alex Albon€1.75 million2022+ (Red Bull)**Williams
16.Nicholas Latifi€850,0002022Williams
17.Mick Schumacher€850,0002022+ (Ferrari)**Haas
18.Nikita Mazepin€850,0002022Haas
19.Guanyu Zhou€850,0002022Alfa Romeo
20.Yuki Tsunoda€650,0002022+*AlphaTauri
* + indicates the option to extend.
**Indicates that the driver is under contract with another team.
John Smith
John Smith
Editor at and all round Motorsport journalist specialising in Formula 1, IndyCar and Formula E.
- Advertisment -


Pascal Wehrlein and Mitch Evans in action at the 2024 London E-Prix | Formula E

Formula E 2024 LIVE: London E-Prix Finale – Huge drama in title race

Welcome to this Formula E LIVE BLOG for Round 16 from the 2024 London E-Prix! This Sunday, we bring you real-time updates,...
Oscar Piastri in action at the 2024 Hungarian GP | McLaren

Oscar Piastri Takes Debut F1 Victory at Hungarian GP Amid McLaren Drama

Oscar Piastri has clinched his first-ever Formula 1 victory at the 2024 Hungarian GP, after a dramatic race filled...
Oscar Piastri of McLaren leads Lando Norris and Max Verstappen into Turn 1 at the start during the 2024 Hungarian Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 2024 Hungarian Grand Prix – Race Results

The 2024 Hungarian Grand Prix race weekend took us through the midpoint of the Formula 1 season, and Oscar Piastri took the chequered flag to...
Sergio Perez during practice ahead of the 2024 Hungarian Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 LIVE: 2024 Hungarian GP – Piastri wins after Norris finally follows team orders

Welcome to this F1 Live Blog for the 2024 Hungarian GP! This Sunday, we bring you real-time updates,...
Lando Norris during practice at the 2024 Hungarian GP | McLaren F1 Team

Lando Norris confident McLaren will win after bagging 2024 Hungarian GP pole

Lando Norris is confident McLaren will win the 2024 Hungarian GP, owing to their impressive performance in race simulations...
George Russell in action at the 2024 Hungarian GP | Mercedes

Angry George Russell calls for Mercedes internal review after qualifying disaster

An angry George Russell called for a review within Mercedes after poor qualifying execution at the 2024 Hungarian Grand...
Oscar Piastri in the pit garage at the 2024 Austrian GP | McLaren F1 Team

Oscar Piastri hints at Lando Norris battle for 2024 Hungarian GP win

Oscar Piastri pointed to the long run down to Turn 1 at the Hungaroring as a potential way to...
Lewis Hamilton in action at the 2024 Hungarian GP | Mercedes

Lewis Hamilton targeting podium at 2024 Hungarian GP

Lewis Hamilton is aiming for a podium at the 2024 Hungarian Grand Prix although he concedes McLaren and Red...

Max Verstappen slams Red Bull upgrade: Whole weekend not good enough

Max Verstappen ripped into Red Bull’s latest upgrade by declaring the whole weekend has been below his standards after...
Pascal Wehrlein of Porsche and Jaguar driver Mitch Evans during Round 15 at the London E-Prix | Formula E

Formula E title permutations and standings ahead of 2024 London E-Prix season finale

Things are hotting up in London as Nick Cassidy claimed pole position for the final race of the season...
- Advertisment -