F1 2022: Canadian GP Starting Grid

Red Bull's Max Verstappen is on pole position, followed by two-time world champion Fernando Alonso in the Alpine


A dominant performance at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve saw the Red Bull driver Max Verstappen take a dominant pole position for the 2022 Canadian Grand Prix, beating out Fernando Alonso in the Alpine by over 0.6s. 

On the second row of the starting grid will be Carlos Sainz in the Ferrari and Lewis Hamilton’s Mercedes, who has his best qualifying result of the season.  

Verstappen’s title rival Charles Leclerc will be starting from the back of the grid after taking his fourth internal combustion engine of the season. 

Canadian GP 2022 – Full Starting Grid

1Max VerstappenRed Bull
2Fernando AlonsoAlpine
3Carlos SainzFerrari
4Lewis HamiltonMercedes
5Kevin MagnussenHaas
6Mick SchumacherHaas
7Esteban OconAlpine
8George RussellMercedes
9Daniel RicciardoMcLaren
10Guanyu ZhouAlfa Romeo
11Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo
12Alex AlbonWilliams
13Sergio PerezRed Bull
14Lando NorrisMcLaren
15Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri
16Sebastian VettelAston Martin
17Lance StrollAston Martin
18Nicholas LatifiWilliams
19Charles LeclercFerrari
20Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri

Canadian GP 2022 – Grid Penalties

  • Leclerc – 10 place grid penalty – Additional power unit element has been used
  • Leclerc – Required to start from the back of the starting grid – Additional power unit elements have been used
  • Tsunoda – Required to start from the back of the starting grid – Additional power unit elements have been used
John Smith
John Smithhttps://total-motorsport.com
Editor at Total-Motorsport.com and all round Motorsport journalist specialising in Formula 1, IndyCar and Formula E.
- Advertisment -


Charles Leclerc Monaco GP record: Ferrari star out to banish seven-year curse

After growing up in Monaco, Charles Leclerc must know the streets of Monte Carlo like the back of his...
Joey Logano leads the field at the NASCAR Cup Series All-Star Race at North Wilkesboro Speedway | NASCAR

Was the NASCAR All-Star Race’s option tyre a success?

The NASCAR All-Star Race is often used as a testing ground for concepts that might be incorporated into points...
McLaren F1 launch bespoke Senna livery for the 2024 Monaco GP | McLaren

McLaren unveil stunning Senna tribute livery for 2024 Monaco GP

McLaren have announced a special Ayrton Senna-inspired livery for the 2024 Formula 1 Monaco Grand Prix, celebrating the legendary...
Lewis Hamilton during 2024 Australian GP | Mercedes / Sulay Kelly

Race to replace Lewis Hamilton at Mercedes down to two candidates

As Lewis Hamilton prepares to leave Mercedes for Ferrari ahead of the 2025 Formula 1 season, there has been...
Ollie Bearman with his new helmet ahead of his practice outing in Imola for Haas

Haas boss outlines how Oliver Bearman can secure 2025 F1 seat after Imola audition

Oliver Bearman has been hailed for his faultless performance by Haas team principal Ayao Komatsu in practice at the...

Esteban Ocon tempted by Mercedes 2025 switch as Alpine doubts emerge

Esteban Ocon has opened the door to replacing Lewis Hamilton at Mercedes, as the Alpine driver ponders his future...
Toto Wolff at 2023 United States Grand Prix | Mercedes / Sebastian Kawka

Toto Wolff ‘can’t wait’ to prove Horner wrong after latest Mercedes jibe

Mercedes boss Toto Wolff has fired back at Christian Horner for suggesting over 200 employees left Mercedes for Red...
Race winner Max Verstappen and runner-up Lando Norris of McLaren celebrate on the podium after the 2024 Emilia Romagna GP | Mark Thompson/Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Winners and Losers from 2024 Emilia Romagna GP

Lando Norris' miraculous late-race pace brought a previously lacklustre 2024 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix to life as the McLaren...
Max Verstappen leads Lando Norris of McLaren at the start of the 2024 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Driver Ratings – Emilia Romagna GP 2024

Max Verstappen returned to the top of the podium after seeing off a late challenge from Lando Norris to...
Scott McLaughlin at 2024 Indy 500 Pole Day | Penske Entertainment: Joe Skibinski

Scott McLaughlin secures pole for Indy 500, as Team Penske sweep front row

Scott McLaughlin clinched the P1 Award in IndyCar's Fast Six qualifying for the 108th Indy 500, leading Team Penske...
- Advertisment -