F1 2022 Brazilian Grand Prix Sprint Race starting grid

Kevin Magnussen to a magnificent pole position for the 2022 Brazilian Grand Prix and will start first on the grid for Saturday's Sprint Race


Kevin Magnussen is the man of the moment in F1 after a brilliant lap, coupled with changeable conditions in Sao Paulo earned the Haas driver pole position for the 2022 Brazilian Grand Prix, which means he will be first on the starting grid for the Brazilian GP Sprint Race which determines the starting grid for the race on Sunday.

There was rain just before Qualifying, though it had stopped by the time the action started at Interlagos, with track conditions changing throughout the one-hour session. 

As Q3 began, dark clouds began moving overhead with all drivers trying to get a flying lap in with the track still suitable for slick tyres. Then with Magnusson atop the timesheet, George Russell beached his Mercedes at Turn 4 resulting in a red flag. 

And by the time action got back underway, rain had began falling in Sao Paulo and Magnussen was confirmed as winning his first ever pole position, sparking huge celebrations at Haas

2022 Brazilian Grand Prix Sprint Race starting grid

1Kevin MagnussenHaas
2Max VerstappenRed Bull
3George RussellMercedes
4Lando NorrisMcLaren
5Carlos SainzFerrari
6Esteban OconAlpine
7Fernando AlonsoAlpine
8Lewis HamiltonMercedes
9Sergio PerezRed Bull
10Charles LeclercFerrari
11Alex AlbonWilliams
12Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri
13Sebastian VettelAston Martin
14Daniel RicciardoMcLaren
15Lance StrollAston Martin
16Nicholas LatifiWilliams
17Zhou GuanyuAlfa Romeo
18Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo
19Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri
20Mick SchumacherHaas
John Smith
John Smithhttps://total-motorsport.com
Editor at Total-Motorsport.com and all round Motorsport journalist specialising in Formula 1, IndyCar and Formula E.
- Advertisment -


The start of the 2024 Hungarian GP | Mark Thompson / Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Driver Ratings – 2024 Hungarian GP

Oscar Piastri stunned fans at the Hungaroring by taking his first career victory at the 2024 F1 Hungarian Grand...
Nick Cassidy walking down the pit lane at the 2024 London E-Prix | Formula E

Emotional Cassidy ‘incredibly sad’ to miss out in dramatic Formula E title race

Nick Cassidy was almost lost for words after he dramatically lost the 2024 Formula E title to Pascal Wehrlein...
Kyle Larson of the #5 HendrickCars.com Chevrolet, celebrates in victory lane after winning 2024 NASCAR Cup Series Brickyard 400 | NASCAR / Getty Images

Why NASCAR waited and ended the Brickyard 400 under caution

Kyle Larson, a Hendrick Motorsports driver, winning the Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on the thirty-year anniversary of...
Max Verstappen leads Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes during the 2024 Hungarian Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Max Verstappen slams Red Bull over shocking 2024 Hungarian GP performance

Max Verstappen slams Red Bull for a shocking display at the 2024 Hungarian GP, calling the car slow and...
Oscar Piastri celebrates winning the 2024 Hungarian GP | McLaren F1 Team

Emotional Oscar Piastri relives maiden F1 win at Hungarian GP

An emotional Oscar Piastri said his 2024 Hungarian GP victory was a “dream come true” as he took his...
Colton Herta wins the IndyCar 2024 Grand Prix of Toronto | Penske Entertainment: Travis Hinkle

Colton Herta Triumphs in Toronto, Ending 40-Race Winless Streak

Michael Andretti’s jubilant reaction following the IndyCar Grand Prix of Toronto at Exhibition Place was unmistakable as Colton Herta...
Pascal Wehrlein celebrates winning the Formula E championship at the London E-Prix | Formula E

Victory and redemption: Pascal Wehrlein’s road to becoming Formula E champion

Following a wide-open battle that boiled down to the very last race of the 2024 season, Pascal Wehrlein officially...
Mitch Evans looks on at the 2024 Portland E-Prix | Formula E

Evans hits out at Jaguar: Team were working against me in Formula E finale

Mitch Evans feels his Jaguar team were working against him during the Formula E finale in London as he...
Pascal Wehrlein celebrates winning 2024 Formula E championship | Formula E

London E-Prix Results 2024 – Formula E Round 16

Pascal Wehrlein emerged victorious in one of the most dramatic races in Formula E history, securing his maiden Drivers'...
Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes battle for track position at Turn 2 during the 2024 Hungarian Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Max Verstappen escapes crash penalty: Blames Lewis Hamilton

Max Verstappen blames Lewis Hamilton for turning in too early for their Hungaroring crash on July 21 as the...
- Advertisment -