F1 2022 Austrian GP Sprint Race Results

Max Verstappen cruised to a win at the 2022 Austrian GP Sprint Race with the Ferrari's Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz claiming second and third


Red Bull’s Max Verstappen claimed a lights to flag victory at the 2022 Formula 1 Austrian Grand Prix Sprint Race. Ferrari pair Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz finished second and third with the Ferrari drivers trading places during the race’s opening stages with Leclerc eventually prevailing.

Mercedes’ George Russell was fourth with Red Bull’s Sergio Perez putting in the performance of the day moving up from his 13th place starting place to finish sixth.

Haas’ Kevin Magnussen and Lewis Hamilton rounded out the top eight and claimed the final points-scoring positions.

Verstappen will start tomorrow’s Austrian Grand Prix from pole with the top four maintaining their qualifying positions.

Red Bull’s Max Verstappen in action during the sprint race for the Austrian GP REUTERS/Leonhard Foeger

F1 2022 Austrian GP Full Sprint Race Results

1Max VerstappenRed Bull26.30.059
2Charles LeclercFerrari+1.675
3Carlos SainzFerrari+5.664
4George RussellMercedes+13.429
5Sergio PerezRed Bull+18.302
6Esteban OconAlpine+31.032
7Kevin MagnussenHaas+34.539
8Lewis HamiltonMercedes+35.447
9Mick SchumacherHaas+37.163
10Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo+37.557
11Lando NorrisMcLaren+38.580
12Daniel RicciardoMcLaren+39.738
13Lance StrollAston Martin+48.241
14Zhou GuanyuAlfa Romeo+50.753
15Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri+52.125
16Alex Albon*Williams+52.412
17Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri+54.556
18Nicholas LatifiWilliams+68.694
19Sebastian VettelAston MartinDNF
20Fernando AlonsoAlpineDNS

*Alex Albon was handed a five-second time penalty for forcing McLaren’s Lando Norris off the track

Rahul Sharan
Rahul Sharanhttps://total-motorsport.com
Motorsport journalist for Total-Motorsport.com
- Advertisment -


Charles Leclerc Monaco GP record: Ferrari star out to banish seven-year curse

After growing up in Monaco, Charles Leclerc must know the streets of Monte Carlo like the back of his...
Joey Logano leads the field at the NASCAR Cup Series All-Star Race at North Wilkesboro Speedway | NASCAR

Was the NASCAR All-Star Race’s option tyre a success?

The NASCAR All-Star Race is often used as a testing ground for concepts that might be incorporated into points...
McLaren F1 launch bespoke Senna livery for the 2024 Monaco GP | McLaren

McLaren unveil stunning Senna tribute livery for 2024 Monaco GP

McLaren have announced a special Ayrton Senna-inspired livery for the 2024 Formula 1 Monaco Grand Prix, celebrating the legendary...
Lewis Hamilton during 2024 Australian GP | Mercedes / Sulay Kelly

Race to replace Lewis Hamilton at Mercedes down to two candidates

As Lewis Hamilton prepares to leave Mercedes for Ferrari ahead of the 2025 Formula 1 season, there has been...
Ollie Bearman with his new helmet ahead of his practice outing in Imola for Haas

Haas boss outlines how Oliver Bearman can secure 2025 F1 seat after Imola audition

Oliver Bearman has been hailed for his faultless performance by Haas team principal Ayao Komatsu in practice at the...

Esteban Ocon tempted by Mercedes 2025 switch as Alpine doubts emerge

Esteban Ocon has opened the door to replacing Lewis Hamilton at Mercedes, as the Alpine driver ponders his future...
Toto Wolff at 2023 United States Grand Prix | Mercedes / Sebastian Kawka

Toto Wolff ‘can’t wait’ to prove Horner wrong after latest Mercedes jibe

Mercedes boss Toto Wolff has fired back at Christian Horner for suggesting over 200 employees left Mercedes for Red...
Race winner Max Verstappen and runner-up Lando Norris of McLaren celebrate on the podium after the 2024 Emilia Romagna GP | Mark Thompson/Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Winners and Losers from 2024 Emilia Romagna GP

Lando Norris' miraculous late-race pace brought a previously lacklustre 2024 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix to life as the McLaren...
Max Verstappen leads Lando Norris of McLaren at the start of the 2024 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Driver Ratings – Emilia Romagna GP 2024

Max Verstappen returned to the top of the podium after seeing off a late challenge from Lando Norris to...
Scott McLaughlin at 2024 Indy 500 Pole Day | Penske Entertainment: Joe Skibinski

Scott McLaughlin secures pole for Indy 500, as Team Penske sweep front row

Scott McLaughlin clinched the P1 Award in IndyCar's Fast Six qualifying for the 108th Indy 500, leading Team Penske...
- Advertisment -