F1 2022 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Starting Grid – Final Grid Positions

Max Verstappen led a Red Bull 1-2 in qualifying for the 2022 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, beating Sergio Perez to pole position


Max Verstappen took his seventh pole position of the 2022 Formula 1 season with a dominant performance in qualifying for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, to lead a Red Bull 1-2 on the starting grid at Yas Marina.

Verstappen had two laps that were good enough for top spot in Q3 as he put his Brazil team orders controversy behind him to blitz the field at the Yas Marina Circuit. He will start alongside teammate Sergio Perez, in what is a Noah’s Ark grid on the first three rows.

Having struggles in practice, Ferrari came alive as the temperatures cooled to take third with Charles Leclerc and fourth with Carlos Sainz on the starting grid.

Lewis Hamilton‘s hopes of keeping his streak of winning a race in every season he’s competed in since his F1 debut in 2007 took a hit as he will only start from fifth, next to teammate George Russell.

Lando Norris was the best of the midfield in seventh, ahead of Esteban Ocon which is important for McLaren‘s slim chances of beating Alpine to fourth place in the constructors’ championsihp.

The retiring Sebastian Vettel will line up from ninth, in front of Daniel Ricciardo who could also be driving in his final Grand Prix weekend.

Here is the full starting grid for the 2022 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix from the Yas Marina Circuit.

2022 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Starting Grid

1Max VerstappenRed Bull
2Sergio PerezRed Bull
3Charles LeclercFerrari
4Carlos SainzFerrari
5Lewis HamiltonMercedes
6George RussellMercedes
7Lando NorrisMcLaren
8Esteban OconAlpine
9Sebastian VettelAston Martin
10Fernando AlonsoAlpine
11Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri
12Mick SchumacherHaas
13Daniel Ricciardo*McLaren
14Lance StrollAston Martin
15Zhou GuanyuAlfa Romeo
16Kevin MagnussenHaas
17Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri
18Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo
19Alex AlbonWilliams
20Nicolas LatifiWilliams
  • Daniel Ricciardo – 3 place grid penalty – Causing a collision at Brazilian GP
Nigel Chiu
Nigel Chiuhttps://total-motorsport.com/author/nigel-chiu/
Nigel Chiu is an NCTJ-qualified journalist who worked at Total-Motorsport for 18 months until May 2023. He has been following F1 since 2007 and hasn’t missed a Grand Prix weekend since. Nigel’s worked with several motorsport websites, plus Eurosport and subsequently went on to work with Sky Sports F1 where he travels to multiple F1 races each season.
- Advertisment -


Charles Leclerc Monaco GP record: Ferrari star out to banish seven-year curse

After growing up in Monaco, Charles Leclerc must know the streets of Monte Carlo like the back of his...
Joey Logano leads the field at the NASCAR Cup Series All-Star Race at North Wilkesboro Speedway | NASCAR

Was the NASCAR All-Star Race’s option tyre a success?

The NASCAR All-Star Race is often used as a testing ground for concepts that might be incorporated into points...
McLaren F1 launch bespoke Senna livery for the 2024 Monaco GP | McLaren

McLaren unveil stunning Senna tribute livery for 2024 Monaco GP

McLaren have announced a special Ayrton Senna-inspired livery for the 2024 Formula 1 Monaco Grand Prix, celebrating the legendary...
Lewis Hamilton during 2024 Australian GP | Mercedes / Sulay Kelly

Race to replace Lewis Hamilton at Mercedes down to two candidates

As Lewis Hamilton prepares to leave Mercedes for Ferrari ahead of the 2025 Formula 1 season, there has been...
Ollie Bearman with his new helmet ahead of his practice outing in Imola for Haas

Haas boss outlines how Oliver Bearman can secure 2025 F1 seat after Imola audition

Oliver Bearman has been hailed for his faultless performance by Haas team principal Ayao Komatsu in practice at the...

Esteban Ocon tempted by Mercedes 2025 switch as Alpine doubts emerge

Esteban Ocon has opened the door to replacing Lewis Hamilton at Mercedes, as the Alpine driver ponders his future...
Toto Wolff at 2023 United States Grand Prix | Mercedes / Sebastian Kawka

Toto Wolff ‘can’t wait’ to prove Horner wrong after latest Mercedes jibe

Mercedes boss Toto Wolff has fired back at Christian Horner for suggesting over 200 employees left Mercedes for Red...
Race winner Max Verstappen and runner-up Lando Norris of McLaren celebrate on the podium after the 2024 Emilia Romagna GP | Mark Thompson/Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Winners and Losers from 2024 Emilia Romagna GP

Lando Norris' miraculous late-race pace brought a previously lacklustre 2024 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix to life as the McLaren...
Max Verstappen leads Lando Norris of McLaren at the start of the 2024 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Driver Ratings – Emilia Romagna GP 2024

Max Verstappen returned to the top of the podium after seeing off a late challenge from Lando Norris to...
Scott McLaughlin at 2024 Indy 500 Pole Day | Penske Entertainment: Joe Skibinski

Scott McLaughlin secures pole for Indy 500, as Team Penske sweep front row

Scott McLaughlin clinched the P1 Award in IndyCar's Fast Six qualifying for the 108th Indy 500, leading Team Penske...
- Advertisment -