Checo Perez looks at crash which gifted Max Verstappen F1 title

Max Verstappen confirmed himself as 2023 F1 world champion with a second place in the Qatar GP Sprint Race


Not that it would have mattered, but Red Bull‘s Sergio Perez effectively handed teammate Max Verstappen his third drivers’ championship, after crashing out of the 2023 Qatar GP Sprint Race during the closing stages on Saturday.

The late retirement for the Mexican driver came after the Alpine of Esteban Ocon and HaasNico Hulkenberg went wheel to wheel, while Perez attempted to creep round the outside of both drivers, causing a collision and a trio of retirements.

“It was a low grip race, but we were covering and we were making good progress,” Perez told the media after the race. “But unfortunately as I was making more progress, they [Ocon and Hulkenberg] had this contact and I paid the price.

“Yeah, massive damage. It’s been a very frustrating day. But tomorrow, it’s a new opportunity and we will give our best.”

A pit board celebrating the 2023 F1 World Drivers Championship victory of Max Verstappen of after Qatar GP Sprint | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Perez praises Verstappen

Even before the Sprint Race was over, Perez‘s late retirement gave the title to Verstappen, who eventually finished second to Oscar Piastri, and cement himself as a three-time F1 world champion.

“He deserves all of the success that he’s had. I’m very happy for him and for the team,” Perez concluded.

With five races on the 2023 calendar still left to go, Red Bull can now fully concentrate on next season knowing that they have wrapped up both F1 championships with relative ease.

- Advertisment -


Charles Leclerc Monaco GP record: Ferrari star out to banish seven-year curse

After growing up in Monaco, Charles Leclerc must know the streets of Monte Carlo like the back of his...
Joey Logano leads the field at the NASCAR Cup Series All-Star Race at North Wilkesboro Speedway | NASCAR

Was the NASCAR All-Star Race’s option tyre a success?

The NASCAR All-Star Race is often used as a testing ground for concepts that might be incorporated into points...
McLaren F1 launch bespoke Senna livery for the 2024 Monaco GP | McLaren

McLaren unveil stunning Senna tribute livery for 2024 Monaco GP

McLaren have announced a special Ayrton Senna-inspired livery for the 2024 Formula 1 Monaco Grand Prix, celebrating the legendary...
Lewis Hamilton during 2024 Australian GP | Mercedes / Sulay Kelly

Race to replace Lewis Hamilton at Mercedes down to two candidates

As Lewis Hamilton prepares to leave Mercedes for Ferrari ahead of the 2025 Formula 1 season, there has been...
Ollie Bearman with his new helmet ahead of his practice outing in Imola for Haas

Haas boss outlines how Oliver Bearman can secure 2025 F1 seat after Imola audition

Oliver Bearman has been hailed for his faultless performance by Haas team principal Ayao Komatsu in practice at the...

Esteban Ocon tempted by Mercedes 2025 switch as Alpine doubts emerge

Esteban Ocon has opened the door to replacing Lewis Hamilton at Mercedes, as the Alpine driver ponders his future...
Toto Wolff at 2023 United States Grand Prix | Mercedes / Sebastian Kawka

Toto Wolff ‘can’t wait’ to prove Horner wrong after latest Mercedes jibe

Mercedes boss Toto Wolff has fired back at Christian Horner for suggesting over 200 employees left Mercedes for Red...
Race winner Max Verstappen and runner-up Lando Norris of McLaren celebrate on the podium after the 2024 Emilia Romagna GP | Mark Thompson/Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Winners and Losers from 2024 Emilia Romagna GP

Lando Norris' miraculous late-race pace brought a previously lacklustre 2024 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix to life as the McLaren...
Max Verstappen leads Lando Norris of McLaren at the start of the 2024 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

F1 Driver Ratings – Emilia Romagna GP 2024

Max Verstappen returned to the top of the podium after seeing off a late challenge from Lando Norris to...
Scott McLaughlin at 2024 Indy 500 Pole Day | Penske Entertainment: Joe Skibinski

Scott McLaughlin secures pole for Indy 500, as Team Penske sweep front row

Scott McLaughlin clinched the P1 Award in IndyCar's Fast Six qualifying for the 108th Indy 500, leading Team Penske...
- Advertisment -