2024 Indy 500 Race Results

Josef Newgarden became the first back-to-back Indy 500 winner in 22 years with victory in the 108th running of the Indianapolis 500


Josef Newgarden joined an elite group of drivers by winning the Indy 500 for the second consecutive year in a thrilling finish at the Brickyard. Here are the complete results from the 2024 Indy 500.

The race, held on Sunday, was delayed for four hours due to a midday rainstorm but the 108th running of the Indy 500 concluded with Newgarden edging out Pato O’Ward in a thrilling finish which saw the Team Penske driver take the lead at Turn 3 on the final lap.

Newgarden crossed the finish line just 0.3417 seconds ahead of O’Ward’s Arrow McLaren. The duo exchanged the lead multiple times in the closing laps, in a competitive and dramatic end to the race.

Starting from third position, Newgarden became the first driver to win consecutive Indy 500s since Helio Castroneves achieved the feat in 2001 and 2002 for Team Penske. This victory also marked Team Penske’s record-extending 20th win at the prestigious event.

Josef Newgarden celebrates winning the 2024 Indy 500 | Penske Entertainment: Amber Pietz
Josef Newgarden celebrates winning the 2024 Indy 500 | Penske Entertainment: Amber Pietz

Newgarden’s triumph came with a $440,000 bonus from BorgWarner, the sponsor of the winner’s Borg-Warner Trophy, for his repeat victory.

Six-time IndyCar champion Scott Dixon secured third place in the No.9 Chip Ganassi car. Alexander Rossi finished fourth in the No.7 Arrow McLaren, while reigning series champion Alex Palou completed the Top 5 in the No.10 Chip Ganassi.

Indy 500 Final Race Results 2024

1Josef NewgardenTeam Penske20002:58:49.4079
2Pato O’WardMcLaren200+0.3417
3Scott DixonChip Ganassi200+0.9097
4Alexander RossiMcLaren200+1.1691
5Alex PalouChip Ganassi200+1.5079
6Scott McLaughlinTeam Penske200+2.0593
7Kyle KirkwoodAndretti200+2.5379
8Santino FerrucciA.J. Foyt Enterprises200+3.6143
9Rinus VeeKayEd Carpenter Racing200+3.9560
10Conor DalyDreyer & Reinbold Racing200+4.6071
11Callum IlottMcLaren200+4.9652
12Christian RasmussenEd Carpenter Racing200+5.3234
13Christian LundgaardRLL Racing200+6.1824
14Takuma SatoRLL Racing200+6.6893
15Graham RahalRLL Racing200+7.3608
16Sting Ray RobbA.J. Foyt Enterprises200+8.5098
17Ed CarpenterEd Carpenter Racing200+8.9081
18Kyle Larson (R)McLaren200+9.4846
19Romain GrosjeanJuncos Hollinger Racing200+9.8312
20Helio CastronevesMeyer Shank Racing200+10.3602
21Kyffin Simpson (R)Chip Ganassi200+11.0931
22Agustin CanapinoJuncos Hollinger Racing199
23Colton HertaAndretti170DNF
24Will PowerTeam Penske145DNF
25Marco AndrettiAndretti113DNF
26Ryan Hunter-ReayDreyer & Reinbold Racing107DNF
27Felix RosenqvistMeyer Shank Racing55DNF
28Linus Lundqvist (R)Chip Ganassi27DNF
29Katherine LeggeDale Coyne Racing22DNF
30Marcus Armstrong (R)Chip Ganassi6DNF
31Tom Blomqvist (R)Meyer Shank Racing0DNF
32Pietro FittipaldiRLL Racing0DNF
33Marcus EricssonAndretti0DNF
John Smithhttps://total-motorsport.com
Editor at Total-Motorsport.com and all round Motorsport journalist specialising in Formula 1, IndyCar and Formula E.
- Advertisment -


Lewis Hamilton explains why F1 doesn’t need a transfer window

Lewis Hamilton has weighed in with his thoughts on whether Formula 1 should adopt a football-style transfer window to...

Forget Ferrari, McLaren are the biggest threat to Red Bull

The very fact that Lando Norris was disappointed and frustrated with finishing second at the Formula 1 2024 Canadian...

Horner calls for Perez to bounce back as he heaps praise on Verstappen

Team principal Christian Horner for Sergio Perez to get back to from for the 2024 Spanish Grand Prix whilst...

Should F1 adopt a football-style transfer window for drivers? Max Verstappen is the proof...

Formula 1 is unlike any other sport, and that's fine - the F1 purists thrive on its unique qualities....

What went wrong for Will Brown, Cam Waters in NASCAR Cup debuts

The NASCAR Cup Series had some Australian flavour Sunday when Supercars Championship stars Will Brown and Cameron Waters made...

What we learned from the 2024 Canadian GP

Max Verstappen returned to the top step of the podium after a terrible 2024 Monaco Grand Prix with an...

Formula E 2024-25 calendar announced for first Gen3 Evo season

Formula E have announced its provisional calendar for the 2024-25 season, which will be the first campaign for the...

Max Verstappen aces huge Canadian GP test as Red Bull and Perez falter

While Lando Norris was frustrated with his team, George Russell committed a litany of errors and Lewis Hamilton lamented...

F1 risks repeating mistake with new 2026 regulations announcement

Formula 1 CEO Stefano Domenicali unveiled the sport's much-heralded new era of racing promising "a new generation of car...

F1 Winners and Losers of the 2024 Canadian GP

The dust settled on a barnstorming 2024 Canadian Grand Prix weekend with Max Verstappen returning to the top step...
- Advertisment -
Exit mobile version