Full 2023 Indy 500 entry list: Nine former winners headline 34-strong Indianapolis 500 field

As well as nine former Indy 500 winners, there are four rookies to the 'Greatest Spectacle in Racing'


The most special two weeks in the motorsport calendar are about to begin with the 107th running of the Indy 500, the jewel in the crown of the NTT IndyCar Series.

200 laps of the 2.5-mile oval at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway have been a staple of the month of May since 1911 and this year, there are 34 drivers hoping to add their name into the history books.

Unfortunately for one of them, their efforts will end one week early as only 33 cars can take the start on Memorial Day weekend.

Here, Total-Motorsport.com guides you through all 34 entries to the ‘Greatest Spectacle in Racing’.

Chip Ganassi Racing

There is only one place to start which is with the reigning Indy 500 champions who once again field Marcus Ericsson, hoping to go back-to-back and ignite his championship challenge.

The Swede will be supported by veteran Scott Dixon, who has been the fastest driver out there in the last two years only to miss out on race day, and Alex Palou.

The fourth Chip Ganassi Racing car will be piloted by two-time winner Takuma Sato as he shares the number 11 machine with Marcus Armstrong – who does the road and street course events.

Team Penske

Roger Penske owns the track and the series but his team have not had much success of late at the Brickyard.

Josef Newgarden, Scott McLaughlin and Will Power have all looked quick at times this season but they all want a stronger showing when it matters most.

Andretti Autosport

The biggest team entry on the grid comes from Andretti with five cars taking to the track.

Their usual quartet of Colton Herta, Kyle Kirkwood, Romain Grosjean and Devlin DeFrancesco pilot cars 26 through 29 respectively.

Joining them in the fifth car will be Marco Andretti, son of team boss Michael Andretti, hoping to replicate his stunning pole during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Arrow McLaren

McLaren is on the rise in IndyCar with three solid campaigners all looking fast to start the season in Pato O’Ward, Felix Rosenqvist and 2016 Indy 500 winner Alexander Rossi.

They add a fourth car for the 500 this year with Tony Kanaan in his final ever race in IndyCar, hoping to add another ring to his collection.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan

Much like McLaren, RLL adds a fourth car to their usual trio of challengers as British racer Katherine Legge joins Graham Rahal, Jack Harvey and Christian Lundgaard.

Legge is the only female on the grid in 2023, returning to the speedway after her last attempt in 2013.

Katherine Legge looks on during testing for the Indy 500 | IndyCar

Meyer Shank Racing

Experience is the key for Meyer Shank Racing with four-time winner Helio Castroneves going for a record-breaking fifth Indy 500 win.

The Brazilian is joined by Simon Pagenaud, who won the show-stopper in 2016 with Team Penske on his way to the title.

Ed Carpenter Racing

No team is more local to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway than Ed Carpenter Racing and the team owner himself will once again drive a third car in May.

Rinus VeeKay and Conor Daly keep their usual cars for the month while Carpenter has brought in a third machine for his annual attempt at Indy 500 glory.

Dale Coyne Racing

Dale Coyne have split their team across two co-operations with HMD Motorsport helping to run David Malukas’ effort to win the crown.

Rick Ware Racing, who also run in NASCAR, are lending a hand on the other car in the garage with Sting Ray Robb behind the wheel for his first 500.

Juncos Hollinger Racing

Juncos have gone from a one-car effort to two in 2023 and Agustin Canapino has impressed after moving from touring cars in Argentina.

He pilots the number 78 car while hotly-tipped British racer Callum Ilott is in the number 77.

A.J. Foyt Enterprises

Santino Ferrucci will be tasked with leading the A.J. Foyt Enterprises efforts in May having impressed at the Brickyard before.

His teammate, Benjamin Pedersen, has found the jump from Indy Lights to IndyCar a tough one so far and will just hope to make the show.

Dreyer and Reinbold Racing

That’s the last of the full-time teams in IndyCar but there are two teams who are only turning up for the big race.

Dreyer and Reinbold Racing have always made this race their aim and they have two cars on the grid in Ryan Hunter-Reay and Stefan Wilson.

Abel Motorsports

The last of the 34 entries came late courtesy of Abel Motorsports, who run teams in Indy NXT and other lower formulas in America.

RC Enerson will drive the number 50 car and he’ll need to complete a rookie orientation after missing the open test in April.

Joe Ellis
Joe Ellis
Joe Ellis is a motorsport journalist with experience working in BTCC. He is the resident IndyCar correspondent for Total-Motorsport.com and a top class F1 writer.
- Advertisment -


Max Verstappen leads Lando Norris of McLaren during the 2024 Canadian Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Forget Ferrari, McLaren are the biggest threat to Red Bull

The very fact that Lando Norris was disappointed and frustrated with finishing second at the Formula 1 2024 Canadian...
Sergio Perez looks on at the 2024 Canadian GP | Mark Thompson / Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Horner calls for Perez to bounce back as he heaps praise on Verstappen

Team principal Christian Horner for Sergio Perez to get back to from for the 2024 Spanish Grand Prix whilst...

Should F1 adopt a football-style transfer window for drivers? Max Verstappen is the proof...

Formula 1 is unlike any other sport, and that's fine - the F1 purists thrive on its unique qualities....

What went wrong for Will Brown, Cam Waters in NASCAR Cup debuts

The NASCAR Cup Series had some Australian flavour Sunday when Supercars Championship stars Will Brown and Cameron Waters made...

What we learned from the 2024 Canadian GP

Max Verstappen returned to the top step of the podium after a terrible 2024 Monaco Grand Prix with an...
Norman Nato leads the field at the 2024 Shanghai E-Prix | Formula E

Formula E 2024-25 calendar announced for first Gen3 Evo season

Formula E have announced its provisional calendar for the 2024-25 season, which will be the first campaign for the...
Race winner Max Verstappen celebrates after the 2024 Canadian Grand Prix | Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool

Max Verstappen aces huge Canadian GP test as Red Bull and Perez falter

While Lando Norris was frustrated with his team, George Russell committed a litany of errors and Lewis Hamilton lamented...

F1 risks repeating mistake with new 2026 regulations announcement

Formula 1 CEO Stefano Domenicali unveiled the sport's much-heralded new era of racing in 2026 promising "a new generation...

F1 Winners and Losers of the 2024 Canadian GP

The dust settled on a barnstorming 2024 Canadian Grand Prix weekend with Max Verstappen returning to the top step...
George Russell at 2024 Bahrain Grand Prix | Mercedes / Sebastian Kawka

George Russell mistakes exposed as Mercedes face major concern

George Russell may have started the Formula 1 2024 Canadian Grand Prix on pole position, yet there was a...
- Advertisment -